The Best Man | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Best Man   

Morosco Theatre, (3/31/1960 - 7/08/1961)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Mar 31, 1960    
Closing Date: Jul 08, 1961 Total Performances: 520

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Description: A play in three acts
Setting: A Presidential Convention in Philadelphia. Summer, 1960.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization; Morosco Theatre Managing Director: Louis A. Lotito
Produced by The Playwrights' Company (Maxwell Anderson; S.N. Behrman; Elmer Rice; Robert E. Sherwood; Sidney Howard); Associate Producer: Lyn Austin
Written by Gore Vidal
Directed by Joseph Anthony
Scenic Design by Jo Mielziner; Costume Design by Theoni V. Aldredge; Lighting Design by Jo Mielziner; Associate Scenic Design: John Harvey; Associate Lighting Design: John Harvey; Assistant Scenic Design: Hugh Hardy and Ming Cho Lee
Company Manager: Morton Gottlieb
Production Stage Manager: Bill Ross; Stage Manager: Howard Fischer; Assistant Stage Mgr: Martin Fried
Press Representative: Abner D. Klipstein; Casting: Terry Fay
Melvyn DouglasWilliam Russell
Frank LovejoyJoseph Cantwell
Lee TracyArthur Hockstader
Leora DanaAlice Russell
Kathleen MaguireMabel Cantwell
Ruth McDevittMrs. Gamadge
Chairman of the Women's Division
Joseph SullivanBill Blades
Karl WeberDick Jensen
Russell's campaign manager
Barbara BerjerThird Reporter
Tony BickleySecond Reporter
Gordon B. ClarkeSenator Carlin
John DorrinEnsemble
Mitchell EricksonEnsemble
Howard FischerFirst Reporter
Hugh FranklinDr. Artinian
Martin FriedMike
Graham JarvisSheldon Marcus
Ruth MaynardAssistant to Dick Jensen
Tom McDermottFourth Reporter
Ruth TobinEnsemble
Understudies: Barbara Berjer (Alice Russell, Mabel Cantwell), Tony Bickley (Bill Blades, Joseph Cantwell), John Dorrin (Fourth Reporter), Mitchell Erickson (First Reporter), Howard Fischer (Arthur Hockstader, Senator Carlin), Hugh Franklin (Dick Jensen, William Russell), Ruth Maynard (Mrs. Gamadge), Tom McDermott (Dr. Artinian, Sheldon Marcus) and Ruth Tobin (Assistant to Dick Jensen, Third Reporter)
Tony Award®
 1960 Best Play [nominee] 
 Written by Gore Vidal ;  Produced by The Playwrights' Company (Maxwell Anderson; S.N. Behrman; Elmer Rice; Robert E. Sherwood; Sidney Howard)
winner 1960 Best Actor in Play [winner] 
  Melvyn Douglas
 1960 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 
  Lee Tracy
 1960 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Leora Dana
 1960 Best Scenic Design (Play) [nominee] 
 Scenic Design by Jo Mielziner
 1960 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 
  Joseph Anthony