143 E. 14th St., New York, NY
Housed in the Tammany Hall building, it opened in 1868 with Bryant's Minstrels. After they left, it was leased to a German company. In 1881, Tony Pastor, whose previous experience had been below Houston, took over. His renamed theatre eventually became the most famous vaudeville house of the 1880s and 90s. By removing the objectionable material from typical variety shows, he developed the traditional vaudeville format. It was later a burlesque house (the Olympic) until Tammany Hall was sold in 1928.
Built: 1868 Closed: 1928 Demolished: 1928