The Seagull | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Seagull   

Walter Kerr Theatre, (10/02/2008 - 12/21/2008)
First Preview: Sep 16, 2008 Total Previews: 18
Opening Date: Oct 02, 2008    
Closing Date: Dec 21, 2008 Total Performances: 94

Category: Play, Comedy, Drama, Revival, Broadway
Setting: The action takes place in Sorin's country place.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (Rocco Landesman: President; Paul Libin: Producing Director; Jack Viertel: Creative Director; Jordan Roth: Vice President)
Produced by Sonia Friedman Productions, Bob Boyett, Robert G. Bartner, Dede Harris, Norman Tulchin, Steven Tulchin, Fox Theatricals (Kristin Caskey, Mike Isaacson), Dena Hammerstein, Sharon Karmazin, Olympus Theatricals, Spring Sirkin, Tara Smith, Mort Swinsky, Karl Sydow, The Weinstein Company, Eric Falkenstein, Jamie deRoy, Jacki Barlia Florin, Larry Hirschhorn, Jay Gutterman, Cindy Gutterman and Joe McGinnis; Associate Producer for Robert Boyett Theatricals: Tim Levy
Originally produced by The Royal Court Theatre
Written by Anton Chekhov; In a new version by Christopher Hampton; Music by Stephen Warbeck
Directed by Ian Rickson
Scenic Design by Hildegard Bechtler; Costume Design by Hildegard Bechtler; Lighting Design by Peter Mumford; Sound Design by Ian Dickinson; U.S. Associate Scenic Designer: Charlie Smith; U.S. Associate Costume Designer: Katie Irish; U.S. Associate Lighting Designer: Dale Knoth; U.S. Associate Sound Designer: Joanna Lynne Staub
General Manager: Stuart Thompson Productions and David Turner; U.K. General Management: Sonia Friedman Productions; Company Manager: Adam Miller
Production Stage Manager: Arthur Gaffin; Production Manager: Aurora Productions; Stage Manager: Jamie Greathouse
U.S. Casting: Jim Carnahan, C.S.A.; U.K. Casting: Lisa Makin; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; Photographer: Joan Marcus
Mackenzie CrookKonstantin Treplev
Peter SarsgaardTrigorin
Kristin Scott ThomasMadame Arkadina
Ann DowdPolina
Julian GambleShamrayev
Zoe KazanMasha
Art MalikDr. Dorn
Mark L. MontgomeryThe Cook
Carey MulliganNina
Christopher Patrick NolanYakov
Pearce QuigleyMedvedenko
Mary RoseA Housemaid
Peter WightSorin
Understudies: Jarlath Conroy (Dr. Dorn, Shamrayev, Sorin), Jessica Cummings (A Housemaid, Masha, Nina), Lynnda Ferguson (Madame Arkadina, Polina, The Cook), Jonathan Fielding (Konstantin Treplev, Medvedenko, Yakov), Mark L. Montgomery (Trigorin) and Mary Rose (Masha, Polina)
Drama Desk Award
 2009 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Zoe Kazan
 2009 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Carey Mulligan