Two Shakespearean Actors | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Two Shakespearean Actors   

Cort Theatre, (1/16/1992 - 2/09/1992)
First Preview: Dec 17, 1991 Total Previews: 33
Opening Date: Jan 16, 1992    
Closing Date: Feb 09, 1992 Total Performances: 29

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Between May 3 and May 10, 1849. Various locations in New York City, including the stages and backstages of the Broadway Theatre and the Astor Place Opera House.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (Gregory Mosher: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
First produced by The Royal Shakespeare Company (Terry Hands, Artistic Director)
Written by Richard Nelson; Incidental music by Bob James; Music orchestrated by Bob James
Directed by Jack O'Brien
Scenic Design by David Jenkins; Costume Design by Jane Greenwood; Lighting Design by Jules Fisher; Sound Design by Jeff Ladman; Projection Design by Greg Meeh
LCT General Manager: Steven C. Callahan; Company Manager: Bruce Klinger
LCT Production Manager: Jeff Hamlin; Production Stage Manager: Alan Hall; Stage Manager: Deborah Clelland
Special Effects by Greg Meeh
Poster Art by James McMullan; LCT General Press Representative: Merle Debuskey; Fight direction by Steve Rankin; LCT Director of Development: Hattie K. Jutagir; LCT Director of Marketing: Thomas Cott; LCT Dramaturg: Anne Cattaneo; Casting: Risa Bramon and Billy Hopkins; Advertising: Russek Advertising; Dialect Coach: Tim Monich
Dedicated to the memory of Joseph Papp
Tom AldredgeWashington Irving
writer and amateur actor
Brian BedfordWilliams Charles Macready
Astor Place (Macbeth), English
Ben BodéPeter Arnold
Astor Place (Malcolm)
Alan BrasingtonCharles Clark
Astor Place (Macduff)
Michael ButlerGeorge Bradshaw
Astor Place (Banquo)
Jeffrey Allan ChandlerScott
Broadway Theatre (who normally plays Macduff but is injured)
Richard ClarkeMr. Blakely
Broadway Theatre (Duncan; Errington)
Frances ConroyCatherine Forrest
wife of Edwin, English
Hope DavisMiss Anne Holland
Broadway Theatre (3rd Witch; Nahmeokee)
Mitchell EdmondsMr. Chippindale
Astor Place (2nd Witch)
Katie FinneranMiss Wemyss
an aspiring actress, daughter of Frederick Wemyss
Victor GarberEdwin Forrest
Broadway Theatre (Macbeth; Metamora)
Laura InnesAgnes Robertson
actress and Boucicault's wife, English/Scottish
Željko IvanekJohn Ryder
Broadway Theatre (fills in as Macduff), English & companion of Macready
Judy KuhnMiss Helen Burton
Broadway Theatre (2nd Witch; Goodenough)
Tom LacyTilton
Broadway Theatre (Porter; Church)
David Andrew MacdonaldRobert Jones
Broadway Theatre (Banquo, Malcolm; Anrawandah)
Tim MacDonaldJames Bridges
Astor Place (Young Siward, 3rd Witch, Ross)
Katie MacNicholEnsemble
Bill MoorFrederick Wemyss
Astor Place (Siward, Old Man)
James MurtaughJohn Sefton
Astor Place (1st Witch, Donalbain)
Susan PellegrinoEnsemble
Le Clanché du RandMrs. Pope
Astor Place (Lady Macbeth)
Thomas SchallEnsemble
Eric StoltzDion Boucicault
playwright and actor, English/Irish
Jennifer Van DyckMiss Jane Bass
Broadway Theatre (1st Witch)
Graham WintonThomas Fisher
Broadway Theatre (Young Siward; Kaweshine)
Understudies: Ben Bodé (James Bridges), Alan Brasington (John Ryder), Michael Butler (Edwin Forrest), Jeffrey Allan Chandler (Williams Charles Macready), Richard Clarke (Frederick Wemyss, Washington Irving), Hope Davis (Miss Jane Bass), Mitchell Edmonds (Mr. Blakely, Tilton), David Andrew Macdonald (Peter Arnold, Thomas Fisher), Katie MacNichol (Miss Anne Holland, Miss Helen Burton, Miss Wemyss), James Murtaugh (Scott), Susan Pellegrino (Agnes Robertson, Catherine Forrest, Mrs. Pope), Thomas Schall (Charles Clark, George Bradshaw, John Sefton, Mr. Chippindale, Robert Jones) and Graham Winton (Dion Boucicault)
Tony Award®
 1992 Best Play [nominee] 
 Written by Richard Nelson ;  Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (Gregory Mosher: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
 1992 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 
  Brian Bedford
 1992 Best Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Željko Ivanek
 1992 Best Costume Design [nominee] 
  Jane Greenwood
 1992 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 
  Jack O'Brien
Drama Desk Award
winner 1992 Outstanding Actor in a Play [winner] 
  Brian Bedford
 1992 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Željko Ivanek