IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Mule Bone   

Ethel Barrymore Theatre , (2/14/1991 - 4/14/1991)
First Preview:Jan 15, 1991 Total Previews:28
Opening Date:Feb 14, 1991   
Closing Date:Apr 14, 1991 Total Performances:68

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Eatonville, Florida. Saturday, November 8th, sometime in the 1920s.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (Gregory Mosher: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
A Staged reading was presented in November 1989 at Rites & Reason Theatre (Brown University)
Written by Langston Hughes and Zora Neale Hurston; Prologue and Epilogue by George Houston Bass; Incidental music by Taj Mahal
Directed by Michael Schultz; Dances Staged by Dianne McIntyre; Associate Director: Novella Nelson; Assistant Director: Imani
Scenic Design by Edward Burbridge; Costume Design by Lewis Brown; Lighting Design by Allen Lee Hughes; Sound Design by Serge Ossorguine; Assistant Lighting Design: Susan A. White
LCT General Manager: Steven C. Callahan; Company Manager: Bruce Klinger
LCT Production Manager: Jeff Hamlin; Production Stage Manager: Maureen F. Gibson; Stage Manager: Fredric H. Orner
Musical Supervisor: Taj Mahal
Poster Art by James McMullan; LCT General Press Agent: Merle Debuskey; Fight direction by Ron Van Clief; LCT Director of Development: Hattie K. Jutagir; LCT Director of Marketing: Thomas Cott; LCT Dramaturg: Anne Cattaneo; LCT Casting: Billy Hopkins and Risa Bramon; Advertising: Russek Advertising; Consultant: Dr. Henry Louis Gates, Jr.; Casting Director: Aisha Coley; Movement Consultant: Guy Davis
Akosua Busia Daisy
Marilyn Coleman Sister Taylor
Paul S. Eckstein Lum Boger
Clebert Ford Old Man Brazzle
Francis Foster Sister Lewis
Arthur French Reverend Singletary
Sonny Jim Gaines Deacon Hambo
Fanni Green Sister Thomas
Donald Griffin Walter Thomas
Leonard Jackson Reverend Simms
Ebony Jo-Ann Sister Blunt
Robert Earl Jones Willie Lewis
T. J. Jones Julius
Joy Lee Zora
Edwina Lewis Sister Hambo
Pee Wee Love Senator
Theresa Merritt Katie Pitts
Pauline Meyer Robena
Reggie Montgomery Lige Mosely
Mansoor Najee-Ullah Tony Taylor
Kenny Neal Jim
Peggy Pettitt Sister Lindsay
Shareen Powlett Matilda
Myra Taylor Mattie Clark
Eric Ware Dave Carter
Vanessa Williams Bootsie
Allie Woods, Jr. Joe Lindsay
Bron Wright Luther
Samuel E. Wright Mayor Joe Clark
Understudies: Guy Davis (Dave Carter, Jim, Lum Boger, Tony Taylor), Arthur French (Mayor Joe Clark), Fanni Green (Sister Taylor), Ebony Jo-Ann (Katie Pitts), T. J. Jones (Senator), Oni Faida Lampley (Bootsie, Mattie Clark, Sister Thomas), Edwina Lewis (Katie Pitts), Pee Wee Love (Luther), Pauline Meyer (Matilda), George Lee Miles (Deacon Hambo, Reverend Simms, Reverend Singletary, Willie Lewis), Mansoor Najee-Ullah (Lige Mosely), Peggy Pettitt (Sister Blunt, Sister Lewis), Shareen Powlett (Julius, Robena), Myra Taylor (Sister Hambo, Sister Lindsay, Teets, Zora), Billy Ray Tyson (Joe Lindsay, Old Man Brazzle, Walter Thomas), Vanessa Williams (Daisy) and Bron Wright (Jesse)
Theatre World
nominee 1991 Award [recipient]
Kenny Neal