La Bête | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

La Bête   

Eugene O'Neill Theatre, (2/10/1991 - 3/02/1991)
First Preview: Jan 29, 1991 Total Previews: 15
Opening Date: Feb 10, 1991    
Closing Date: Mar 02, 1991 Total Performances: 25

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: 1654. Pezenas, France. Languedoc. Prince Conti's

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (James H. Binger: Chairman; Rocco Landesman: President)
Produced by Stuart Ostrow and Andrew Lloyd Webber
Written by David Hirson
Directed by Richard Jones
Scenic Design by Richard Hudson; Costume Design by Richard Hudson; Lighting Design by Jennifer Tipton; Sound Design by Peter Fitzgerald
General Manager: Gatchell & Neufeld, Ltd.; Company Manager: Wendy Orshan
Technical Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris and Harris Production Services; Production Stage Manager: Bob Borod; Stage Manager: Glen Gardali
Casting: Simon & Kumin Casting, Inc.; General Press Representative: Springer Associates, Inc.; Advertising: Grey Entertainment, Inc.
Dylan BakerPrince Conty
Johann CarloDorine
Michael CumpstyElomire
Holly FeltonCatherine De Brie
Cheryl GaysunasServant
James GreeneBejart
John Michael HigginsDe Brie
Patricia KilgarriffMadeleine Bejart
Ellen KohrmanServant
Michael McCormickServant
Tom McGowanValere
William MesnikRene Du Parc
Suzie PlaksonMarquise - Theresa Du Parc
Eric SwansonServant
Understudies: Cheryl Gaysunas (Catherine De Brie, Madeleine Bejart), John Michael Higgins (Valere), Ellen Kohrman (Dorine, Marquise - Theresa Du Parc), Michael McCormick (Rene Du Parc), William Mesnik (Bejart), Michael James Reed (Elomire) and Eric Swanson (De Brie, Prince Conty)
Tony Award®
 1991 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 
  Tom McGowan
 1991 Best Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Dylan Baker
 1991 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Richard Hudson
 1991 Best Lighting Design [nominee] 
  Jennifer Tipton
 1991 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 
  Richard Jones
Drama Desk Award
 1991 Outstanding New Play [nominee] 
 Produced by Stuart Ostrow and Andrew Lloyd Webber ;  Written by David Hirson
 1991 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Tom McGowan
 1991 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Dylan Baker
 1991 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee] 
 Directed by Richard Jones
 1991 Outstanding Costumes [nominee] 
 Costume Design by Richard Hudson
 1991 Outstanding Set Design [nominee] 
 Scenic Design by Richard Hudson