IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Brooks Atkinson Theatre , (11/11/1990 - 4/07/1991)
First Preview:Nov 02, 1990 Total Previews:11
Opening Date:Nov 11, 1990   
Closing Date:Apr 07, 1991 Total Performances:169

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Oxford in the 1950s.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; Robert E. Nederlander: President; Arthur Rubin: Vice-President)
Produced by Elliot Martin, James M. Nederlander, Brian Eastman, Terry Allen Kramer and Roger L. Stevens; Produced by arrangement with Brian Eastman, The Plymouth Theatre Royal and Armada Productions Limited
Written by William Nicholson
Directed by Elijah Moshinsky
Scenic Design by Mark Thompson; Costume Design by Mark Thompson; Lighting Design by John Michael Deegan
General Manager: Ralph Roseman
Production Stage Manager: Elliott Woodruff; Stage Manager: Wally Peterson
Casting: Marjorie Martin; General Press Representative: Jeffrey Richards Associates; Advertising: LeDonne & Wilner
Jane Alexander Joy Davidman
Nigel Hawthorne C.S. Lewis
Michael Allinson Major W.H. Lewis ( "Warnie")
Robin Chadwick Rev. Harry Harrington
Edmund C. Davys Alan Gregg
Jonathan Gold Douglas Alternate
Mary Layne Registrar
Lance Robinson Douglas Alternate
Hugh A. Rose Dr. Oakley
Paul Sparer Christopher Riley
Standby: Michael Allinson (C.S. Lewis)
Understudies: Edmund C. Davys (Christopher Riley), Mary Layne (Joy Davidman), Hugh A. Rose (Alan Gregg, Doctor, Rev. Harry Harrington), Jennifer Sternberg (Nurse, Registrar) and Ian Sullivan (Dr. Oakley, Major W.H. Lewis ( "Warnie"), Priest, Waiter)
Tony Award®
 1991 Best Play [nominee]
Written by William Nicholson; Produced by Elliot Martin, James M. Nederlander, Brian Eastman, Terry Allen Kramer and Roger L. Stevens
winner 1991 Best Actor in Play [winner]
Nigel Hawthorne