Medea | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Longacre Theatre, (4/07/1994 - 6/26/1994)
First Preview: Mar 29, 1994 Total Previews: 9
Opening Date: Apr 07, 1994    
Closing Date: Jun 26, 1994 Total Performances: 83

Category: Play, Drama, Tragedy, Revival, Broadway
Setting: Corinth

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Bill Kenwright; Produced in association with The Liverpool Playhouse
Originally produced by The Almeida Theatre Company
Written by Euripides; A new translation by Alistair Elliot; Incidental music by Jonathan Dove; Music Associate: Matthew Scott
Directed by Jonathan Kent
Scenic Design by Peter J. Davison; Costume Design by Paul Brown; Lighting Design by Wayne Dowdeswell; Sound Design by John A. Leonard; Assistant Set Designer (UK): Giles Cadle; Associate Lighting Design: Rui Rita
General Manager: Stuart Thompson Productions
Technical Supervisor: Gene O'Donovan; Production Stage Manager: Dianne Trulock; Assistant Stage Mgr: Terrence J. Witter
Movement directed by Caroline Pope; General Press Representative: Philip Rinaldi Publicity; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.
Diana RiggMedea
Donald DouglasAegeus
king of Athens
Janet HenfreyNurse
Jane Loretta LoweWoman of Corinth
Dan MullaneMessenger
Tyler NoyesChild
Judith ParisWoman of Corinth
John SouthworthTutor
John TurnerCreon
ruler of Corinth
Lucas WiesendangerChild
Nuala WillisWoman of Corinth
Tim Oliver WoodwardJason
chief of the Argonauts
Understudies: Blake C. Eastman (Child), Mark Hammer (Aegeus, Creon, Tutor), Tanny McDonald (Nurse, Woman of Corinth) and John Woodson (Jason, Messenger)
Tony Award®
 1994 Best Revival of a Play [nominee] 
 Produced by Bill Kenwright
winner 1994 Best Actress in a Play [winner] 
  Diana Rigg
 1994 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Peter J. Davison
Drama Desk Award
 1994 Outstanding Play Revival [nominee] 
 Produced by Bill Kenwright
 1994 Outstanding Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Diana Rigg
 1994 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee] 
 Directed by Jonathan Kent
winner 1994 Outstanding Sound Design [winner] 
 Sound Design by John A. Leonard
 1994 Outstanding Music in a Play [nominee] 
 Incidental music by Jonathan Dove
 1994 Outstanding Set Design [nominee] 
 Scenic Design by Peter J. Davison