Cafe Crown | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Cafe Crown   

Brooks Atkinson Theatre, (2/18/1989 - 3/26/1989)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Feb 18, 1989    
Closing Date: Mar 26, 1989 Total Performances: 45

Category: Play, Comedy, Revival, Broadway
Description: A play in three acts
Setting: The Cafe Crown, Second Avenue and 12th Street in New York City. An Autumn Evening. 1940.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; Robert E. Nederlander: President; Arthur Rubin: Vice-President)
Produced by LeFrak Entertainment, James M. Nederlander, Francine LeFrak, James L. Nederlander and Arthur Rubin
Originally produced by The New York Shakespeare Festival (Joseph Papp, Producer)
Written by Hy Kraft
Directed by Martin Charnin
Scenic Design by Santo Loquasto; Costume Design by Santo Loquasto; Lighting Design by Richard Nelson; Sound Consultant: Peter Fitzgerald; Hair and Wig Design by Paul Huntley
General Manager: Joseph Harris and Peter T. Kulok
Production Stage Manager: Thomas A. Kelly; Stage Manager: Lisa Buxbaum; Technical Supervisor: Jeremiah J. Harris Associates
Casting: Rosemarie Tichler and Nancy Piccione; Press Representative: Shirley Herz Associates and Richard Kornberg & Associates; Advertising: Weiner Associates; Photographer: Martha Swope
Bob DishyHymie
Anne JacksonAnna Cole
Eli WallachDavid Cole
Walter BobbieGeorge Burton
David CarrollWalter
Marilyn CooperIda Polan
Fyvush FinkelSam
George GuidallToplitz
David MarguliesMendel Polan
Sidney ArmusBeggar
Western Union Messenger
Carl DonLipsky
Felix FibichKaplan
Tresa HughesMrs. Perlman
Mitchell JasonLooie
Jack KennyRubin
Bernie PasseltinerJacobson
Laura SametzNorma Cole
Steven SkybellLester Freed
Understudies: Jack Aaron (Beggar, Florist, Jacobson, Mendel Polan, Rubin, Western Union Messenger), Sidney Armus (Toplitz), Susan Bruce (Norma Cole), Maggie Burke (Ida Polan, Mrs. Perlman), George Guidall (David Cole), Tresa Hughes (Anna Cole), Jack Kenny (George Burton, Lester Freed, Walter), Bernie Passeltiner (Kaplan, Lipsky, Looie) and Maurice Shrog (Hymie, Sam)
Tony Award®
winner 1989 Best Scenic Design [winner] 
  Santo Loquasto
 1989 Best Revival [nominee] 
 Produced by LeFrak Entertainment , James M. Nederlander , Francine LeFrak , James L. Nederlander and Arthur Rubin
Drama Desk Award
 1989 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Fyvush Finkel
winner 1989 Outstanding Set Design [winner] 
 Scenic Design by Santo Loquasto