IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Circle in the Square Theatre , (3/04/1987 - 1/03/1988)
First Preview:Feb 14, 1987 Total Previews:20
Opening Date:Mar 04, 1987   
Closing Date:Jan 03, 1988 Total Performances:350

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: A private beach on Massachusetts; North Shore. The last 2 weeks of August.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Circle in the Square (under the direction of Theodore Mann and Paul Libin)
Produced by Circle in the Square (Theodore Mann: Artistic Director; Paul Libin: Producing Director)
Originally produced by Second Stage Theatre (Robyn Goodman, Carole Rothman, Artistic Directors)
Written by Tina Howe; Incidental music from the album "Past Light" by William Ackerman
Directed by Carole Rothman
Scenic Design by Bob Shaw; Costume Design by Susan Hilferty; Lighting Design by Dennis Parichy; Sound Design by Gary Harris; Hair Design by Antonio Soddu
Company Manager: William Conn
Production Manager: Michael F. Ritchie; Production Stage Manager: Pamela Edington
Circle in the Square Senior Press Agent: Merle Debuskey; Circle in the Square Press Representative: William Schelble; Original Casting by Simon & Kumin Casting, Inc.; Casting: Hughes / Moss Casting; Advertising: The Golden Group and Don Josephson
Jonas Abry Winston Took
Annette Bening Holly Dancer
Timothy Daly Leo Hart
Jean DeBaer Ariel Took
Angela Goethals Miranda Bigelow
Ronald Guttman Andre Sor
Heather MacRae Faith Bigelow
Rosemary Murphy M. J. Adams
Addison Powell Dr. Hamilton Adams
Understudies: David Cryer (Andre Sor, Dr. Hamilton Adams), Christopher Cunningham, Jr. (Winston Took), Don Fischer (Leo Hart), Monique Lawrence (Miranda Bigelow) and Susan Wands (Ariel Took, Faith Bigelow, Holly Dancer)
Tony Award®
 1987 Best Play [nominee]
Written by Tina Howe; Produced by Circle in the Square (Theodore Mann: Artistic Director; Paul Libin: Producing Director)
 1987 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Annette Bening
 1987 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
Carole Rothman
Theatre World
nominee 1987 Award [recipient]
Annette Bening
nominee 1987 Award [recipient]
Timothy Daly
Drama Desk Award
 1987 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee]
Directed by Carole Rothman
 1987 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee]
Dennis Parichy