The Mystery of Edwin Drood | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Mystery of Edwin Drood   

Imperial Theatre, (12/02/1985 - 5/16/1987)
First Preview: Nov 12, 1985 Total Previews: 24
Opening Date: Dec 02, 1985    
Closing Date: May 16, 1987 Total Performances: 608

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: Cloisterham, England and the East End of London.
Comments: Title changed to "Drood" in the middle of the run.

Production Staff [Collapse]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by Joseph Papp; Associate Producer: Jason Steven Cohen
Originally produced by The New York Shakespeare Festival (Joseph Papp, Producer)
Music by Rupert Holmes; Book by Rupert Holmes; Lyrics by Rupert Holmes; Suggested by the unfinished novel by Charles Dickens; Musical Director: Michael Starobin; Music orchestrated by Rupert Holmes
Directed by Wilford Leach; Choreographed by Graciela Daniele
Scenic Design by Bob Shaw; Costume Design by Lindsay W. Davis; Lighting Design by Paul Gallo; Sound Design by Tom Morse; Magic Lantern Projections by James Cochrane; Hair and Wig Design by Paul Huntley
NYSF General Manager: Laurel Ann Wilson; Company Manager: Bob MacDonald; Assistant Co. Mgr: Susan Sampliner
Production Stage Manager: James Harker; Stage Manager: Robin Herskowitz; Assistant Stage Mgr: Michele Pigliavento; NYSF Production Manager: Andrew Mihok; NYSF Technical Director: Mervyn Haines, Jr.
Music Contractor: Seymour "Red" Press; Assistant Conductor: Edward Strauss; Violin: Ronald Oakland, Alvin E. Rogers, Katsuko Esaki, Marshall Coid, Gayle Dixon and Sandra Billingslea; Cello: Peter Prosser, Laura Blustein and Jeanne LeBlanc; Reeds: David Weiss, Richard A. Heckman, Lester Cantor and Seymour "Red" Press; Trumpet: Wilmer Wise and Phil Granger; Trombone: Santo Russo and Earl McIntyre; Horns: Russell Rizner and R. Allen Spanjer; Keyboards: Donald Rebic; Bass: Melanie L. Punter; Percussion: Skip Reed; Drums: Glenn Rhian
NYSF Press Representative: Richard Kornberg; NYSF General Press Representative: Merle Debuskey; Dialect Coach: Cindia Huppeler; Dance Captain: Rob Marshall; NYSF Casting: Rosemarie Tichler; Vocal Coach: Marge Rivingston; Advertising: Serino, Coyne & Nappi; Photographer: Martha Swope; Artwork by Paul Davis; Asst. to the Choreographer: Rob Marshall
Betty BuckleyEdwin Drood / Miss Alice Nutting
Cleo LaineThe Princess Puffer / Miss Angela Prysock
George RoseMayor Thomas Sapsea / Mr. William Cartwright, Your Chairman
Patti CohenourRosa Bud / Miss Deirdre Peregrine
Howard McGillinJohn Jasper / Mr. Clive Paget
Jerome DempseyDurdles / Mr. Nick Cricker
Karen GiombettiSuccubae / Miss Sarah Cook
Citizen of Cloisterham
Stephen GlavinDeputy / Master Nick Cricker
Statue / Master Nick Cricker
Charles GoffHorace / Mr. Brian Pankhurst
Citizen of Cloisterham
Susan GoodmanServant / Miss Violet Balfour
Citizen of Cloisterham
Joe GrifasiServant / Mr. Philip Bax
Bazzard / Mr. Phillip Bax
Nicholas GunnShade of Jasper / Mr. Harry Sayle
Citizen of Cloisterham
John HerreraNeville Landless / Mr. Victor Grinstead
Judy KuhnAlice / Miss Isabel Yearsley
Succubae / Miss Isabel Yearsley
Citizen of Cloisterham
Herndon LackeyClient of the Princess Puffer / Mr. Alan Eliot
Julian / Mr. Alan Eliot
Citizen of Cloisterham
Francine LandesSuccubae / Miss Gwendolen Pynn
Servant / Miss Gwendolen Pynn
Citizen of Cloisterham
Rob MarshallClient of the Princess Puffer / Mr. Christopher Lyon
Citizen of Cloisterham
George N. MartinThe Reverend Mr. Crisparkle / Mr. Cedric Moncrieffe
Peter McRobbieHarold / Mr. James Throttle
Citizen of Cloisterham
Brad MiskellShade of Drood / Mr. Montague Pruitt
Citizen of Cloisterham
Donna MurphyBeatrice / Miss Florence Gill
Succubae / Miss Florence Gill
Citizen of Cloisterham
Jana SchneiderHelena Landless / Miss Janet Conover
George SpelvinDick Datchery
Swings: Laurent Giroux and Michele Pigliavento
Standby: Ronn Carroll (Bazzard / Mr. Phillip Bax, Durdles / Mr. Nick Cricker)
Understudies: Karen Giombetti (Helena Landless / Miss Janet Conover), Judy Kuhn (Edwin Drood / Miss Alice Nutting, Rosa Bud / Miss Deirdre Peregrine), Herndon Lackey (John Jasper / Mr. Clive Paget, Neville Landless / Mr. Victor Grinstead), Peter McRobbie (Mayor Thomas Sapsea / Mr. William Cartwright, Your Chairman, The Reverend Mr. Crisparkle / Mr. Cedric Moncrieffe), Brad Miskell (Deputy / Master Nick Cricker), Donna Murphy (Helena Landless / Miss Janet Conover, The Princess Puffer / Miss Angela Prysock) and Michele Pigliavento (Beatrice / Miss Florence Gill)
Tony Award®
winner 1986 Best Musical [winner] 
 Produced by Joseph Papp
winner 1986 Best Book of a Musical [winner] 
 Book by Rupert Holmes
winner 1986 Best Original Score [winner] 
 Music by Rupert Holmes ;  Lyrics by Rupert Holmes
winner 1986 Best Actor in a Musical [winner] 
  George Rose
 1986 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee] 
  Cleo Laine
 1986 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee] 
  John Herrera
 1986 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee] 
  Howard McGillin
 1986 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee] 
  Patti Cohenour
 1986 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee] 
  Jana Schneider
 1986 Best Choreography [nominee] 
  Graciela Daniele
winner 1986 Best Direction of a Musical [winner] 
  Wilford Leach
Theatre World
winner 1986 Award [recipient] 
  Cleo Laine
winner 1986 Award [recipient] 
  Howard McGillin
Drama Desk Award
winner 1986 Outstanding Musical [winner] 
 Produced by Joseph Papp
winner 1986 Outstanding Book [winner] 
 Book by Rupert Holmes
winner 1986 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [winner] 
  George Rose
 1986 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [nominee] 
  Howard McGillin
 1986 Outstanding Actress in a Musical [nominee] 
  Patti Cohenour
 1986 Outstanding Actress in a Musical [nominee] 
  Cleo Laine
 1986 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee] 
  Joe Grifasi
winner 1986 Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical [winner] 
  Jana Schneider
winner 1986 Outstanding Director of a Musical [winner] 
 Directed by Wilford Leach
winner 1986 Outstanding Orchestration [winner] 
  Rupert Holmes
winner 1986 Outstanding Music [winner] 
 Music by Rupert Holmes
winner 1986 Outstanding Costume Design [winner] 
  Lindsay W. Davis
 1986 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee] 
  Paul Gallo
 1986 Outstanding Set Design [nominee] 
 Scenic Design by Bob Shaw
music by Rupert Holmes; lyrics by Rupert Holmes
ACT 1 Sung By
There You AreChairman and The Company
A Man Could Go Quite MadJasper
Two KinsmenDrood and Jasper
A British SubjectNeville and Crisparkle with Jasper, Rosa and Helen
Moonfall (Reprise) Rosa and Helena, with Alice and Beatrice
I Wouldn't Say NoDurdles, Deputy and Chairman, with Ensemble
The Wages of SinPuffer
Jasper's VisionPuffer
CeylonHelena, Neville, Drood and Rosa, with Ensemble
Both Sides of the CoinJasper and Chairman, with Ensemble
Perfect StrangersDrood and Rosa
No Good Can Come From BadNeville, Drood, Rosa, Helena, Crisparkle, Jasper and Bazzard and the servants
The Name of Love and Moonfall (reprise)Rosa and Jasper with Ensemble
ACT 2 Sung By
Settling Up the ScoreDatchery and Puffer, with Ensemble
Off to the RacesChairman, Durdles and Deputy, with Ensemble
The Garden Path to HellPuffer
Don't Quit While You're AheadPuffer with The Company