IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Morosco Theatre , (5/01/1978 - 1/01/1980)
First Preview:Apr 28, 1978 Total Previews:4
Opening Date:May 01, 1978   
Closing Date:Jan 01, 1980 Total Performances:697

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: A kitchen and, later, places remembered. May 1968 and, later, times remembered.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Operated by The Regency Organization, Ltd. (Irwin Meyer; Stephen R. Friedman; Lester Osterman)
Produced by Lester Osterman, Marilyn Strauss and Marc Howard
Originally produced by The Hudson Guild Theatre (Craig Anderson: Producer)
Written by Hugh Leonard
Directed by Melvin Bernhardt
Scenic Design by Marjorie Kellogg; Costume Design by Jennifer von Mayrhauser; Lighting Design by Arden Fingerhut; Special Assistant to Ms. Kellogg: Suri Bieler
General Manager: Richard Horner; Company Manager: Bruce Laffey
Production Stage Manager: Edward R. Fitzgerald; Assistant Stage Mgr: David Naughton; Technical Advisor: Mitch Miller
Press Representative: Howard Atlee and Becky Flora; Casting Consultant: Elizabeth R. Woodman; Hudson Guild Theatre Casting Director / Literary Director: David Kerry Heefner; Advertising: Ash / LeDonne
Barnard Hughes Da
Brian Murray Charlie Now
Lois De Banzie Mrs. Prynne
Mia Dillon Mary Tate
Sylvia O'Brien Mother
Lester Rawlins Drumm
Richard Seer Young Charlie
Ralph Williams Oliver
Standbys: Faith Catlin (Mary Tate), Ruby Holbrook (Mother, Mrs. Prynne) and David Leary (Charlie Now, Oliver)
Understudy: David Naughton (Young Charlie)
Tony Award®
winner 1978 Best Play [winner]
Written by Hugh Leonard; Produced by Lester Osterman, Marilyn Strauss and Marc Howard
winner 1978 Best Actor in Play [winner]
Barnard Hughes
winner 1978 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner]
Lester Rawlins
winner 1978 Best Direction of a Play [winner]
Melvin Bernhardt
Theatre World
nominee 1978 Award [recipient]
Richard Seer
Drama Desk Award
winner 1978 Outstanding New Play [winner]
Produced by Lester Osterman, Marilyn Strauss and Marc Howard; Written by Hugh Leonard
winner 1978 Outstanding Actor in a Play [winner]
Barnard Hughes
 1978 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee]
Brian Murray
 1978 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee]
Lester Rawlins
winner 1978 Outstanding Director of a Play [winner]
Directed by Melvin Bernhardt