IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Broadway Theatre , (12/01/2005 - 2/24/2008)
First Preview:Nov 01, 2005 Total Previews:30
Opening Date:Dec 01, 2005   
Closing Date:Feb 24, 2008 Total Performances:910

Category: Musical, Drama, Original, Broadway

Production Staff [Collapse]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Philip J. Smith: President; Robert E. Wankel: Executive Vice President)
Produced by Oprah Winfrey, Scott Sanders, Roy Furman, Quincy Jones, Creative Battery, Anna Fantaci, Cheryl Lachowicz, Independent Presenters Network, David Lowy, Stephanie McClelland, Gary Winnick, Jan Kallish, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Bob Weinstein, Harvey Weinstein, Andrew Asnes, Adam Zotovich and Todd Johnson
World Premiere Produced by The Alliance Theatre Company
Book by Marsha Norman; Lyrics by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray; Music by Brenda Russell, Allee Willis and Stephen Bray; Musical Director: Linda Twine; Based on the novel by Alice Walker; Music orchestrated by Jonathan Tunick; Dance arrangements by Daryl Waters; Based on the motion picture by Warner Brothers and Amblin Entertainment Inc.; Incidental Music Arrangements: Kevin Stites; Additional Arrangements: Joseph Joubert
Directed by Gary Griffin; Choreographed by Donald Byrd; Associate Director: Nona Lloyd
Scenic Design by John Lee Beatty; Lighting Design by Brian MacDevitt; Costume Design by Paul Tazewell; Sound Design by Jon Weston; Hair Design by Charles G. LaPointe; Associate Scenic Design: Eric Renschler; Assistant Scenic Design: Yoshi Tanokura; Associate Costume Design: Michael McAleer; Assistant Costume Design: Dennis Ballard and Christine Field; Associate Lighting Design: Mark T. Simpson and Jennifer Schriever; Assistant Lighting Design: Benjamin Travis; Associate Sound Design: Jason Strangfeld; Automated Lighting Programmer: David Arch; Make-Up Design by Angelina Avallone
General Manager: Nina Lannan & Associates and Amy Beth Jacobs; Company Manager: Kimberly Kelley; Assistant Co. Mgr: Doug Gaeta
Production Manager: Arthur Siccardi and Patrick Sullivan; Production Stage Manager: Kristen Harris; Stage Manager: Glynn David Turner; Assistant Stage Mgr: Neveen Mahmoud
Musical Supervisor: Kevin Stites; Conducted by Linda Twine; Associate Conductor: Joseph Joubert; Trumpets: Barry Danielian, Brian O'Flaherty and Kamau Adilifu; Trombones: Larry Farrell and Jason Jackson; Woodwinds: Les Scott, Lawrence Feldman and Jay Brandford; Keyboards: Joseph Joubert and Shelton Becton; Drums/Percussion: Buddy Williams and Damien Bassman; Guitar: Steve Bargonetti; Bass: Ben Brown; Violins: Paul Woodiel and Mineko Yajima; Viola: David Creswell; Cello: Clay C. Ruede; Music Contractor: Seymour "Red" Press; Copyists: Emily Grishman Music Preparation; Synthesizer Programmer: Bruce Samuels; Music Department Assistant: Nathan Kelly
Casting: Bernard Telsey Casting, Inc.; Press Representative: Carol R. Fineman and Barlow-Hartman Public Relations; Marketing: TMG - The Marketing Group; Dance Captain: Stephanie Guiland-Brown ; Asst. to the Choreographer: Ruthlyn Salomons; Fight direction by J. Steven White; Fight Captain: James Brown III; Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; Photographer: Joan Marcus and Paul Kolnik; Dialect Coach: Deborah Hecht; Assistant Dance Captain: Jamal Story ; Website Design & Online Marketing Strategy: Situation Marketing, Damian Bazadona, Ian Bennett and Sara Fitzpatrick
LaChanze Celie
Brandon Victor Dixon Harpo
Felicia P. Fields Sofia
Reneé Elise Goldsberry Nettie
Kingsley Leggs Mister
Krisha Marcano Squeak
Elisabeth Withers-Mendes
Broadway Debut
Shug Avery (Nov 01, 2005 - Jan 31, 2008)
James Brown III Bobby
LaTrisa A. Coleman Ensemble
Carol Dennis Church Soloist
Anika Ellis Ensemble
Doug Eskew Preacher
Zipporah G. Gatling Young Celie
Mister Daughter
Young Olivia
Charles Gray Ensemble
James Harkness Ensemble
Francesca Harper Ensemble
Kimberly Ann Harris
Broadway Debut
Church Lady / Doris
Chantylla Johnson
Broadway Debut
Young Nettie
Mister Daughter
Chief's Daughter
Grasan Kingsberry Older Adam
J. C. Montgomery Pa
Lou Myers Ol' Mister
Angela Robinson Ensemble
Bahiyah Sayyed Gaines Older Olivia
Nathaniel Stampley Buster
Jamal Story
Broadway Debut
Leon G. Thomas III Young Harpo
Young Adam
Maia Nkenge Wilson Church Lady / Jarene
Virginia Ann Woodruff Church Lady / Darlene
Swings: Jeannette I. Bayardelle, Eric L. Christian, Bobby Daye, Stephanie Guiland-Brown and Corinne McFarlane
Understudies: Jeannette I. Bayardelle (Celie, Nettie), James Brown III (Harpo), Carol Dennis (Sofia), Anika Ellis (Shug Avery), Charles Gray (Mister), Francesca Harper (Squeak), Kimberly Ann Harris (Sofia), Kenita R. Miller (Celie, Nettie), J. C. Montgomery (Mister), Angela Robinson (Shug Avery) and Nathaniel Stampley (Harpo)
Theatre World
nominee 2007 Award [recipient]
Fantasia Barrino
nominee 2006 Award [recipient]
Felicia P. Fields
nominee 2006 Award [recipient]
Elisabeth Withers-Mendes
Tony Award®
 2006 Best Musical [nominee]
Produced by Oprah Winfrey, Scott Sanders, Roy Furman, Quincy Jones, Creative Battery, Anna Fantaci, Cheryl Lachowicz, Independent Presenters Network, David Lowy, Stephanie McClelland, Gary Winnick, Jan Kallish, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Bob Weinstein, Harvey Weinstein, Andrew Asnes, Adam Zotovich and Todd Johnson
 2006 Best Book of a Musical [nominee]
Book by Marsha Norman
 2006 Best Original Score [nominee]
Lyrics by Brenda Russell, Stephen Bray and Allee Willis; Music by Allee Willis, Brenda Russell and Stephen Bray
winner 2006 Best Actress in a Musical [winner]
 2006 Best Featured Actor in a Musical [nominee]
Brandon Victor Dixon
 2006 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Felicia P. Fields
 2006 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee]
Elisabeth Withers-Mendes
 2006 Best Choreography [nominee]
Donald Byrd
 2006 Best Scenic Design of a Musical [nominee]
Scenic Design by John Lee Beatty
 2006 Best Costume Design of a Musical [nominee]
Costume Design by Paul Tazewell
 2006 Best Lighting Design of a Musical [nominee]
Lighting Design by Brian MacDevitt
ACT 1Sung By
Huckelberry Pie Young Celie and Young Nettie
Mysterious Ways Church Soloist, Church Ladies and Company
Somebody Gonna Love You Celie
Our Prayer Nettie, Celie and Mister
Big Dog Mister and Field Hands
Hell No! Sofia and Sisters
Brown Betty Harpo, Men and Squeak
Shug Avery Comin' to Town Mister, Celie and Company
Too Beautiful for Words Shug Avery
Push Da Button Shug Avery and Company
Uh-Oh! Church Ladies, Sofia and Squeak
What About Love? Celie and Shug Avery
ACT 2Sung By
African Homeland Nettie, Celie, Olivia, Adam and Villagers
The Color Purple Shug Avery
Mister's Song Mister
Miss Celie's Pants Celie, Shug Avery, Sofia and Women
Any Little Thing Harpo and Sofia
I'm Here Celie
The Color Purple (Reprise)Celie, Nettie and Company