IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Biltmore Theatre , (4/28/1980 - 7/20/1980)
First Preview:Apr 22, 1980 Total Previews:8
Opening Date:Apr 28, 1980   
Closing Date:Jul 20, 1980 Total Performances:96

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: The courtroom in the psychiatric wing of Bellevue Hospital, New York. February 1979.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by David J. Cogan
Produced by Stevie Phillips; Produced in association with Universal Pictures; Associate Producer: Bonnie Champion and Danny Kreitzberg
Originally produced by WPA Theatre (Kyle Renick, Producing Director)
Written by Tom Topor
Directed by Stephen Zuckerman
Scenic Design by Tom Schwinn; Costume Design by Christina Weppner; Lighting Design by Roger Morgan; Hair Design by Steve Atha; Make-Up Design by Steve Atha
General Manager: Schlissel & Kingwill, Inc.; Company Manager: Larry Goossen
Production Stage Manager: Lola Shumlin; Stage Manager: Kathy Arlt
General Press Representative: Jeffrey Richards Associates; Advertising: Ash / LeDonne; Bukhara Karakul Fur Jacket by Ben Kahn Furs; Press Representative: C. George Willard, Warren Knowlton, Robert Ganshaw, Bill Miller, Ted Killmer and Karen Gromis
Anne Twomey Claudia Faith Draper
Hansford Rowe Arthur Kirk
Gregory Abels Franklin Macmillan
Dave Florek Officer Harry Haggerty
Linda Howes The Recorder
Lenka Peterson Rose Kirk
Paul Stolarsky Dr. Herbert Rosenthal
Ed Van Nuys Judge Murdoch
Richard Zobel Aaron Levinsky
Understudies: Dave Florek (Franklin Macmillan), Georgine Hall (Rose Kirk, The Recorder), Erika Peterson (Claudia Faith Draper) and Philip Polito (Aaron Levinsky, Dr. Herbert Rosenthal)
Tony Award®
 1980 Best Actress in a Play [nominee]
Anne Twomey
Theatre World
nominee 1980 Award [recipient]
Anne Twomey
Drama Desk Award
 1980 Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play [nominee]
Hansford Rowe