Comedians | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Music Box Theatre, (11/28/1976 - 4/03/1977)
First Preview: Oct 28, 1976 Total Previews: 39
Opening Date: Nov 28, 1976    
Closing Date: Apr 03, 1977 Total Performances: 145

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: A secondary school in Manchester, England.

Production Staff [Collapse]
Theatre Owned by Irving Berlin and Select Theatres Corporation
Produced by Alexander H. Cohen; Produced in association with Gabriel Katzka and Edward L. Schuman; Co - Producer: Hildy Parks and Roy A. Somlyo
Written by Trevor Griffiths
Directed by Mike Nichols
Scenic Design by John Gunter; Costume Design by John Gunter; Lighting Design by Ron Wallace
Associate Manager: Seymour Herscher; Company Manager: Joel Wyman
Production Stage Manager: Nina Seely; Assistant Stage Mgr: Faizul Khan
Pianist: Woody Kessler
Assistant to Miss Parks: Shelley Nadell
Scenery Supervisor: James Tilton; Costume Supervisor: James Tilton; Press Representative: Richard Hummler; Casting: Meg Simon; Advertising: Ash / LeDonne
Milo O'SheaEddie Waters
John LithgowGed Murray
Jonathan PryceGethin Price
Rex RobbinsBert Challenor
Norman AllenCaretaker
Armand AssanteTeddy
Jayant BlueMr. Patel
Jarlath ConroyMick Connor
Jeffrey DeMunnPhil Murray
Robert GerringerClub Secretary - M.C.
Larry LambGeorge McBrain
David MarguliesSammy Samuels
Understudies: Norman Allen (Club Secretary - M.C., Phil Murray), Armand Assante (George McBrain), John Clark (Caretaker, Sammy Samuels), Jeffrey DeMunn (Gethin Price), Robert Gerringer (Bert Challenor), Jonathan Hogan (Ged Murray, Mick Connor) and Faizul Khan (Mr. Patel)
Tony Award®
winner 1977 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner] 
  Jonathan Pryce
 1977 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 
  Mike Nichols
Theatre World
winner 1977 Award [recipient] 
  Jonathan Pryce
Drama Desk Award
 1977 Outstanding Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Jonathan Pryce
winner 1977 Outstanding Director of a Play [winner] 
 Directed by Mike Nichols
 1977 Outstanding New Play (Foreign) [nominee] 
 Produced by Alexander H. Cohen , Hildy Parks and Roy A. Somlyo ;  Produced in association with Gabriel Katzka and Edward L. Schuman ;  Written by Trevor Griffiths
 1977 Outstanding Costume Design [nominee] 
  John Gunter
 1977 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee] 
  Ron Wallace