First Monday in October | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

First Monday in October   

Majestic Theatre, (10/03/1978 - 11/12/1978)
ANTA Playhouse, (11/14/1978 - 12/09/1978)
First Preview: Sep 19, 1978 Total Previews: 17
Opening Date: Oct 03, 1978    
Closing Date: Dec 09, 1978 Total Performances: 79

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: Backstage at the U. S. Supreme Court. The imaginary now.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President)
Produced by The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and Plumstead Theatre Society, Inc. (Martha Scott, Joel Spector, Bernard Wiesen)
Written by Jerome Lawrence and Robert E. Lee
Directed by Edwin Sherin
Scenic Design by Oliver Smith; Costume Design by Ann Roth; Lighting Design by Roger Morgan
General Manager: Theatre Now, Inc.
Production Stage Manager: Frederic de Wilde; Stage Manager: Robert Crawley; Assistant Stage Mgr: John Stewart and Eugene Stuckmann
General Press Representative: John Springer Associates; Press Representative: Louis Sica and Suzanne Salter; Casting: Terry Fay; Advertising: Lawrence Weiner and Associates and Hy Jacobs
Jane AlexanderJudge Ruth Loomis
Henry FondaAssociate Justice Daniel Snow
Larry GatesChief Justice James Jefferson Crawford
Maurice CopelandAssociate Justice Waldo Thompson
Ron FaberBlake
Carol Mayo JenkinsMiss Birnbaum
Patrick McCulloughAssociate Justice Christopher Halloran
John NewtonThe Marshall
Alexander ReedAssociate Justice Ambrose Quincy
P. J. SidneyCustodian
Tom StechschulteMason Woods
John StewartCustodian
Eugene StuckmannAssociate Justice Richard Carey
Earl SydnorAssociate Justice Josiah Clewes
John WardwellAssociate Justice Harold Webb
Standby: Carol Mayo Jenkins (Judge Ruth Loomis) and John Newton (Associate Justice Daniel Snow)
Understudies: Maurice Copeland (Chief Justice James Jefferson Crawford), Alexander Reed (Associate Justice Harold Webb, Blake), P. J. Sidney (Associate Justice Josiah Clewes, Nightwatchman), John Stewart (Mason Woods) and Eugene Stuckmann (The Marshall)
Tony Award®
 1979 Best Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Jane Alexander