IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Winter Garden Theatre , (3/10/1974 - 5/11/1974)
First Preview:Feb 15, 1974 Total Previews:26
Opening Date:Mar 10, 1974   
Closing Date:May 11, 1974 Total Performances:69

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Description: A play in two acts
Setting: Dublin. June 16, 1904.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Executive Directors: Irving Goldman, Bernard B. Jacobs, Gerald Schoenfeld)
Produced by Alexander H. Cohen and Bernard Delfont; Associate Producer: Roy A. Somlyo
Dramatized by Marjorie Barkentin; From "Ulysses" by James Joyce; Score by Peter Link; Music arranged by Peter Link; Musical Director: Peter Phillips
Directed by Burgess Meredith; Dance movement by Swen Swenson; Assistant Director: Tom Clancy
Lighting Design by Jules Fisher; Costume Design by Pearl Somner; Scenic Design by Ed Wittstein; Sound Design by Sandy Hacker; Associate Lighting Design: Marc B. Weiss
Production Supervisor: Jerry Adler and Donald Christy; Stage Manager: Alisa Jill Adler; Assistant Stage Mgr: Danny Ruvolo
Keyboards: Peter Phillips; Guitar and Banjo: Howard Collins; Percussionist: Irwin Cooper; Violinist: Leo Kahn; Woodwinds: Wallace Kane; Bass & Tuba: Austin Wallace
Production Associate: Hildy Parks; Press Representative: David Powers; Consultant to Mr. Swenson: Bert Michaels; Advertising: Jeff Ash
Zero Mostel Leopold Bloom
W.B. Brydon Narrator
Fionnuala Flanagan Molly Bloom
Mary Driscoll
Mrs. Bellingham
Stephen's Mother
Swen Swenson Bella-Bello
Douglas Anderson Coachman
Tom Kernan
The Spy
Norman Barrs Martin Cunningham
Pvt. Carr
Philip Beaufoy
Harry Rumbold
The Man in The McIntosh
Dr. Madden
Brother Buzz
Margery Beddow Whore
Afternoon Hour
Barbara Blair Child
Female Infant
Michael Clarke-Laurence Simon Dedalus
1st Watch
J. J. O'Molloy
Sir Frederick Falkiner
Mayor Harrington
Bishop of Down & Connor
Dr. Dixon
Professor Goodwin
Rev. Love
Joanna deVarona Pygmy Woman
The Blushing Bride
Morning Hour
The Nymph
Gale Garnett
Broadway debut
Cissy Caffrey
The Veiled Sybil
Mrs. Mervyn Talboys
Beulah Garrick Sprawled Figure
Mrs. Breen
Mrs. Yelverton Barry
The Old Resident
Mrs. Riordan
Mrs. Thornton
Bella Cohen
Scott Gordon
Broadway debut
Davy Stephens
Attendant to Bella-Bello
Tom Lee Jones Stephen Dedalus
Carolyn Kirsch Zoe
Peggy Griffin
Night Hour
Danny Meehan Blazes Boylan
Drunken Navvy
Pvt. Compton
Dark Mercury
A Pavior & Flagger
Bert Michaels Blind Man
Professor Maginni
Kevin O'Leary Father Farley
Danny Ruvolo Idiot
Attendant to Bella-Bello
David Ogden Stiers Buck Mulligan
2nd Watch
Dr. Mulligan
Bishop of Erin
Standby: Richard Morse (A Pavior & Flagger, Blazes Boylan, Coachman, Dark Mercury, Drunken Navvy, Elijah, Hollybush, Lynch, Pvt. Compton, Stephen Dedalus)
Understudies: Joanna deVarona (The Nymph), Gale Garnett (Applewoman, Crone, Mary Driscoll, Molly Bloom, Mrs. Bellingham, Stephen's Mother), Robin Howard (Mrs. Breen, Mrs. Riordan, Mrs. Thornton, Mrs. Yelverton Barry, Pianola, Sprawled Figure, The Old Resident), Kevin O'Leary (Bishop of Down & Connor, Brother Buzz, Dr. Dixon, Dr. Madden, Harry Rumbold, Hornblower, J. J. O'Molloy, Martin Cunningham, Mayor Harrington, Philip Beaufoy, Professor Goodwin, Pvt. Carr, Rev. Love, Sir Frederick Falkiner, The Man in The McIntosh) and Danny Ruvolo (Acolyte, Blind Man, Child, Crab, Davy Stephens, Hobgoblin, Idiot, Professor Maginni, Rudy, Wellington)
Tony Award®
 1974 Best Play [nominee]
Dramatized by Marjorie Barkentin; Produced by Alexander H. Cohen and Bernard Delfont
 1974 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Zero Mostel
 1974 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Fionnuala Flanagan
 1974 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Ed Wittstein
winner 1974 Best Lighting Design [winner]
Jules Fisher
 1974 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
Burgess Meredith
Drama Desk Award
winner 1974 Outstanding Performance [winner]
Performer: Zero Mostel