A Midsummer Night's Dream | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Midsummer Night's Dream   

Billy Rose Theatre, (1/20/1971 - 3/13/1971)
First Preview: Jan 16, 1970 Total Previews: 2
Opening Date: Jan 20, 1971    
Closing Date: Mar 13, 1971 Total Performances: 62

Category: Play, Comedy, Revival, Broadway
Setting: Athens, and a wood near it.

Production Staff
Produced by David Merrick Arts Foundation and The Royal Shakespeare Company (Trevor Nunn, Artistic Director)
Written by William Shakespeare; Incidental music by Richard Peaslee
Directed by Peter Brook
Scenic Design by Sally Jacobs; Costume Design by Sally Jacobs; Lighting Design by Lloyd Burlingame
General Manager: Jack Schlissel; Company Manager: Vince McKnight
Production Supervisor: Samuel Liff; General Stage Manager: Roger Howells; Stage Manager: Roger Gregory and Lawrence Burns; Assistant Stage Mgr: Julian Beech and John Watts
Press Associate: Lee Solters, Harvey B. Sabinson, Leo Stern and Edie Kean
Martin BestEnsemble
Hugh Keays ByrneCobweb
Ralph CotterillMoth
Frances de la TourHelena
Alan HowardTheseus
John KanePhilostrate
Robin Goodfellow
Sara KestelmanHippolyta
Ben KingsleyDemetrius
Glynne LewisFrancis Flute
A bellows-mender
Philip LockeEgeus
Peter Quince
A carpenter
Phillip ManikumRobin Starveling
A tailor
Tony McVeyEnsemble
Celia QuickePeaseblossom
Mary RutherfordHermia
Daughter of Egeus
Barry StantonSnug
A joiner
Patrick StewartTom Snout
A tinker
Terence TaplinLysander
David WallerNick Bottom
A weaver
Robin WeatherallEnsemble
John YorkMustardseed
Tony Award®
 1971 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Sally Jacobs
winner 1971 Best Direction of a Play [winner] 
  Peter Brook
Drama Desk Award
winner 1971 Outstanding Set Design [winner] 
 Scenic Design by Sally Jacobs
winner 1971 Outstanding Director [winner] 
 Directed by Peter Brook