IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Brooks Atkinson Theatre , (10/13/1969 - 1/03/1970)
First Preview: Total Previews:16
Opening Date:Oct 13, 1969   
Closing Date:Jan 03, 1970 Total Performances:96

Category: Play, Original, Broadway

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by James L. Nederlander and Joseph Nederlander
Produced by Lyn Austin, Oliver Smith, Joel W. Schenker and Roger L. Stevens; Associate Producer: Steve Sinn
Written by Arthur Kopit; Music by Richard Peaslee
Directed by Gene Frankel; Choreographed by Julie Arenal
Scenic Design by Oliver Smith; Lighting Design by Thomas Skelton; Costume Design by Marjorie Slaiman; Assistant to Mr. Smith: Jack Brown
General Manager: Oscar Olsen; Company Manager: James Walsh
Production Stage Manager: Kathleen A. Sullivan; Stage Manager: Fritz Holt; Assistant Stage Mgr: Moose Peting
General Press Representative: Harvey B. Sabinson and Lee Solters; Casting: Terry Fay; Production Assistant: Binti Hoskins; Assistant to the Producer: Lisa Stamm; Assistant to the Director: Tessie Hill; Production Associate to Mr. Smith: Marian Kinsella; Asst. to the Choreographer: Mary Barnett
Stacy Keach Buffalo Bill
Manu Tupou Sitting Bull
Tom Aldredge Senator Logan
Clinton Allmon Cowboy
Juan Antonio Naiche
Dimitra Arliss Teskanjavila
Philip Arsenault Low Dog
Yusef Bulos Interpreter
Kevin Conway Black Hawk
Ronny Cox Jesse James
Darryl Croxton Master Valet
Peter DeMaio Touch-the-Clouds
Princeton Dean Kiokuk
Brian Donohue Valet
Dortha Duckworth First Lady
Charles Durning Ned Buntline
Michael Ebbin Old Taza
Wesley Fata Yellow Cloud
Jay Fletcher Little Hawk
Tom Fletcher White Antelope
Ted Goodridge Howling Wolf
Pamela Grey Annie Oakley
Bob Hamilton Trial Soldier
Edward Henkel Satanta
Barton Heyman Wild Bill Hicock
Raul Julia Grand Duke Alexis
Dino Laudicina Crazy Horse
Peter MacLean Ol' Time President
Colonel Forsyth
Richard McKenzie Senator Dawes
Robert McLane He-Who-Hears-Thunder
Richard Miller Cowboy
George Mitchell Chief Joseph
Richard Nieves Trial Soldier
Richard Novello Valet
Leon Oxman Indian Drummer
Tony Posk White House Orchestra
Joseph Ragno Valet
Jon Richards Senator Morgan
Ed Rombola Geronimo
Billy the Kid
Peter Rosenfelt White House Orchestra
Allan Silverman Indian Drummer
James J. Sloyan Spotted Tail
Andy Torres Red Cloud
Pascual Vaquer Tecumseh
Sam Waterston John Grass
Gary Weber Kicking Bear
Understudies: Clinton Allmon (Chief Joseph, Senator Dawes), Kevin Conway (Colonel Forsyth, Ol' Time President, Senator Logan), Princeton Dean (Billy the Kid, Geronimo), Pamela Grey (First Lady, Teskanjavila), Dino Laudicina (Grand Duke Alexis, Poncho, Spotted Tail, Uncas), Peter MacLean (Buffalo Bill), Richard McKenzie (Ned Buntline), Richard Miller (Reporter, Senator Morgan), Richard Nieves (Jesse James, Lieutenant), Joseph Ragno (Interpreter) and James J. Sloyan (John Grass, Wild Bill Hicock)
Tony Award®
 1970 Best Play [nominee]
Written by Arthur Kopit; Produced by Lyn Austin, Oliver Smith, Joel W. Schenker and Roger L. Stevens
 1970 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Stacy Keach
 1970 Best Lighting Design [nominee]
Thomas Skelton
Drama Desk Award
winner 1970 Outstanding Performance [winner]
Performer: Stacy Keach