A Cry of Players | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Cry of Players   

This production played in repertory with King Lear

Vivian Beaumont Theatre, (11/14/1968 - 2/15/1969)
First Preview: Total Previews: 4
Opening Date: Nov 14, 1968    
Closing Date: Feb 15, 1969 Total Performances: 72

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: A backwater town in England. Autumn in the 1580's.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by Lincoln Center Theater
Produced by Repertory Theatre of Lincoln Center (under the direction of Jules Irving)
Written by William Gibson; Incidental music by Richard Peaslee
Directed by Gene Frankel
Scenic Design by David Hays; Costume Design by Patricia Quinn Stuart; Lighting Design by John Gleason; Assistant to Mr. Hays: Doug Schmidt; Assistant to Mr. Gleason: Spencer Mosse
Production Stage Manager: Ronald Schaeffer; Stage Manager: Frank Bayer; Assistant Stage Mgr: Barnett Epstein and Martin Herzer
Properties: Fred Nihda; Sound Effects by Gary Harris
Assistant to the Director: Linda Gerber; Vocal Coach: Roland Gagnon and Herbert Kaplan
Ruth AttawayTownsperson
Joseph AttlesTownsperson
René AuberjonoisNed
Anne BancroftAnne
Gerry BlackPope
Samual Blue, Jr.Townsperson
Virgilia ChewTownsperson
James CookTownsperson
Jerome DempseyHodges
Michael EganFulk
Patricia ElliottTownsperson
Stephen ElliottSir Thomas
Brendan FayBerry
Ray FryRichards
Leslie GravesTownsperson
Mervyn HainesTownsperson
Douglas HayleTownsperson
Frank LangellaWill
Rosetta LeNoireMeg
Robert LevineTownsperson
Don McHenryOld John
Judith MihalyiTownsperson
Robert MolockTownsperson
Bill MoorSandells
William MyersTownsperson
Jackie ParisSusanna
Robert PhalenTownsperson
Paul RuddTownsperson
Tom SawyerHeming
Joseph SchroerTownsperson
Jean-Pierre StewartTownsperson
Ray StewartRoche
Robert SymondsKemp
Kristoffer TaboriArthur
Barbette TweedTownsperson
Susan TyrrellJenny
Ronald WeyandGilbert
Understudies: Ruth Attaway (Meg), Frank Bayer (Arthur), James Cook (Kemp), Leslie Graves (Susanna), Douglas Hayle (Heming), Robert Levine (Berry, Gilbert, Richards), Marilyn Lightstone (Anne), Robert Molock (Pope), William Myers (Hodges, Old John, Roche), Robert Phalen (Will), Robert Stattel (Sandells), Barbette Tweed (Jenny) and Ronald Weyand (Fulk)
Drama Desk Award
winner 1969 Outstanding Performance [winner] 
 Performer: Frank Langella