The Right Honourable Gentleman | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

The Right Honourable Gentleman   

Billy Rose Theatre, (10/19/1965 - 1/29/1966)
First Preview: Oct 07, 1965 Total Previews: 12
Opening Date: Oct 19, 1965    
Closing Date: Jan 29, 1966 Total Performances: 118

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: London. 1885.

Production Staff
Produced by Peter Cookson, Amy Lynn and Walter Schwimmer
Written by Michael Dyne
Directed by Frith Banbury
Scenic Design by Loudon Sainthill; Costume Design by Loudon Sainthill; Lighting Design by Lloyd Burlingame
Production Stage Manager: John Maxtone-Graham; Stage Manager: William H. Batchelder
General Press Representative: Sol Jacobson, Lewis Harmon and Mary Ward
Sarah BadelMrs. Donald Crawford (Nia)
Francis BethencourtCaptain Forster
Coral BrowneMrs. Rossiter (Lila)
Eve CollyerMrs. Sarah Gray
Staats CotsworthSir James Russell
M'el DowdMrs. Emilia Pattison
later Lady Dilke
Henderson ForsytheMr. Donald Crawford
Charles D. GraySir Charles Dilke
Louise LarabeeMrs. Pelham
William RoerickMr. Joseph Chamberlain
Frances SternhagenMrs. Ashton Dilke (Maye)
Dilke's Sister-in-law
Marie WallaceMrs. Garland (Helen)
Frederick YoungBrookes
A Servant
Ed ZimmermannMr. Bodley
Understudies: Francis Bethencourt (Sir Charles Dilke), Eve Collyer (Mrs. Rossiter (Lila)), Henderson Forsythe (Mr. Joseph Chamberlain), Sylvia O'Brien (Brookes, Mrs. Emilia Pattison, Mrs. Pelham, Mrs. Sarah Gray), Nancy Reardon (Mrs. Ashton Dilke (Maye), Mrs. Donald Crawford (Nia), Mrs. Garland (Helen)) and Frederick Young (Captain Forster, Mr. Bodley, Mr. Donald Crawford, Sir James Russell)
Tony Award®
 1966 Best Play [nominee] 
 Written by Michael Dyne ;  Produced by Peter Cookson , Amy Lynn and Walter Schwimmer
 1966 Best Costume Design [nominee] 
  Loudon Sainthill