IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Morosco Theatre , (3/06/1973 - 8/18/1973)
First Preview:Mar 02, 1973 Total Previews:3
Opening Date:Mar 06, 1973   
Closing Date:Aug 18, 1973 Total Performances:192

Category: Play, Original, Broadway
Setting: The changing room of a Rugby League Team in the North of England.

Production Staff
Morosco Theatre Managing Director: Lester Osterman; Morosco Theatre General Manager: Richard Horner
Produced by Charles Bowden, Lee Reynolds and Isobel Robins
Originally produced by The Long Wharf Theatre
Written by David Storey
Directed by Michael Rudman
Scenic Design by David Jenkins; Costume Design by Whitney Blausen; Lighting Design by Ronald Wallace
General Manager: Diana Shumlin; Company Manager: Robert I. Goldberg
Production Stage Manager: Anne Keefe; Assistant Stage Mgr: Edwin J. McDonough
Production Coordinator: Diana Shumlin; General Press Representative: Seymour Krawitz; Press Associate: Patricia Krawitz; Advertising: Lawrence Weiner and Associates
Tom Atkins Walsh
Louis Beachner Harry Riley
the Cleaner
John Braden "Sandy" Sandford
the Assistant Trainer
Alan Castner Frank Moore
Peter DeMaio Tallon
the Referee
Jake Dengel Luke
the Masseur
George Ede Danny Crosby
the Trainer
George Hearn Trevor
James Hummert Bryan Atkinson
John Lithgow "Kenny" Kendal
Ian Martin Mackendrick
the Club Secretary
Richard D. Masur Jack Stringer
Robert Murch Clifford Owens
Team Captain
William Rhys "Fenny" Gordon Fenchurch
Rex Robbins Fielding
Jack Schultz "Mic" Morley
Ron Siebert John Clegg
Doug Stender Patrick "Patsy" Walter Turner
James Sutorius Barry Copley
William Swetland Sir Frederick Thornton
the Club Owner
John Tillinger Colin Jagger
Mark Winkworth Billy Spencer
Standbys: John Beal ("Sandy" Sandford, Danny Crosby, Harry Riley, Mackendrick, Sir Frederick Thornton), Jeff David (Barry Copley, Clifford Owens, Fielding, Luke, Walsh) and Steve Karp ("Fenny" Gordon Fenchurch, Billy Spencer, Bryan Atkinson, Frank Moore, John Clegg, Patrick "Patsy" Walter Turner, Tallon)
Understudy: Edwin J. McDonough ("Kenny" Kendal, "Mic" Morley, Colin Jagger, Jack Stringer, Trevor)
Tony Award®
 1973 Best Play [nominee]
Written by David Storey; Produced by Charles Bowden, Lee Reynolds and Isobel Robins
winner 1973 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner]
John Lithgow
 1973 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
David Jenkins
 1973 Best Direction of a Play [nominee]
Michael Rudman
Drama Desk Award
winner 1973 Outstanding Set Design [winner]
Scenic Design by David Jenkins
winner 1973 Outstanding Performance [winner]
Performer: John Lithgow
winner 1973 Outstanding Director [winner]
Directed by Michael Rudman
winner 1973 Most Promising Performer [winner]
Performer: Tom Atkins