Pippin | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Imperial Theatre, (10/23/1972 - 3/13/1977)
Minskoff Theatre, (3/15/1977 - 6/12/1977)
First Preview: Oct 18, 1972 Total Previews: 5
Opening Date: Oct 23, 1972    
Closing Date: Jun 12, 1977 Total Performances: 1944

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: 780 A.D. and thereabouts. The Holy Roman Empire and thereabouts.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Executive Directors: Irving Goldman, Bernard B. Jacobs, Gerald Schoenfeld)
Produced by Stuart Ostrow
Book by Roger O. Hirson; (Uncredited) Book by Bob Fosse; Music by Stephen Schwartz; Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz; Musical Director: Stanley Lebowsky; Music orchestrated by Ralph Burns; Dance arrangements by John Berkman
Directed by Bob Fosse; Choreographed by Bob Fosse
Scenic Design by Tony Walton; Costume Design by Patricia Zipprodt; Lighting Design by Jules Fisher; Sound Design by Abe Jacob; Hair Design by Ernest Adler
General Manager: Joseph Harris and Ira Bernstein
Production Stage Manager: Phil Friedman; Stage Manager: Lola Shumlin and Paul Phillips
Music published by Belwin Mills Publishing Corporation; Music Contractor: Mel Rodnon; Music Preparation Supervisor: Mathilde Pincus and Al Miller; Keyboards: Edward Strauss and Michael Alterman; Woodwinds: Daniel Trimboli, Seymour Press, Sampson Giat and John Campo; Brass: Irving Berger, Eddie Bert, Kenny Rupp, Tony Salvatori, Arthur Goldstein and Doug Norris; Strings: Marvin Morgenstern, Fred Manzella, Al Fishman, Maurice Bialkin and Ronald Lipscomb; Guitars: Don Thomas, Charles Macey and Michael Fleming; Percussion: Maurice Mark, Stanley Koor and Bernie Karl; Harp: Nancy Brennand
General Press Representative: Solters / Sabinson / Roskin Inc.; Press Representative: Cheryl Sue Dolby; Dance Captain: Kathryn Doby; Casting Consultant: Michael Shurtleff; Advertising: Ingram Ash, Jeff Ash and The Blaine Thompson Company; Atwork logo by Tony Walton
Eric BerryCharles
Jill ClayburghCatherine
Leland PalmerFastrada
John RubinsteinPippin
Irene RyanBerthe
Ben VereenLeading Player
Roger A. BigelowDance Alternate
Candy BrownPlayer
Christopher ChadmanLewis
Cheryl ClarkDance Alternate
Kathryn DobyPlayer
Gene FooteNoble
Roger HamiltonThe Head
Field Marshall
Richard KorthazeBeggar
John MineoMusician
Jennifer Nairn-SmithPlayer
Shane NickersonTheo
Ann ReinkingPlayer
Paul SolenPeasant
Pamela SousaPlayer
Standby: Northern J. Calloway (Leading Player), Lucie Lancaster (Berthe), Will McMillan (Theo) and Walter Willison (Pippin)
Understudies: Candy Brown (Fastrada), Gene Foote (Leading Player), Roger Hamilton (Charles) and Ann Reinking (Catherine)
Tony Award®
 1973 Best Musical [nominee] 
 Produced by Stuart Ostrow
 1973 Best Book of a Musical [nominee] 
 Book by Roger O. Hirson
 1973 Best Original Score [nominee] 
 Music by Stephen Schwartz ;  Lyrics by Stephen Schwartz
winner 1973 Best Actor in a Musical [winner] 
  Ben Vereen
 1973 Best Actress in a Musical [nominee] 
  Leland Palmer
 1973 Best Featured Actress in a Musical [nominee] 
  Irene Ryan
winner 1973 Best Scenic Design [winner] 
  Tony Walton
 1973 Best Costume Design [nominee] 
  Patricia Zipprodt
winner 1973 Best Lighting Design [winner] 
  Jules Fisher
winner 1973 Best Choreography [winner] 
  Bob Fosse
winner 1973 Best Direction of a Musical [winner] 
  Bob Fosse
Drama Desk Award
winner 1973 Outstanding Choreography [winner] 
  Bob Fosse
winner 1973 Outstanding Costume Design [winner] 
  Patricia Zipprodt
winner 1973 Outstanding Set Design [winner] 
 Scenic Design by Tony Walton
winner 1973 Outstanding Performance [winner] 
 Performer: Ben Vereen
winner 1973 Outstanding Director [winner] 
 Directed by Bob Fosse
Theatre World
winner 1973 Award [recipient] 
  John Rubinstein
music by Stephen Schwartz; lyrics by Stephen Schwartz
Magic to DoLeading Player and Players
Corner of the SkyPippin
Welcome HomeCharles and Pippin
War Is a ScienceCharles and Pippin
GloryLeading Player
Simple JoysLeading Player
No Time at AllBerthe and The Boys
With YouPippin and The Girls
Spread a Little SunshineFastrada
Morning GlowPippin
On the Right TrackLeading Player and Pippin
Kind of WomanCatherine and The Girls
Love SongPippin and Catherine
FinaleThe Players