In the Matter of J. Robert Oppenheimer | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.

In the Matter of J. Robert Oppenheimer   

Vivian Beaumont Theatre, (3/06/1969 - 4/20/1969)
First Preview: Total Previews: 12
Opening Date: Mar 06, 1969    
Closing Date: Apr 20, 1969 Total Performances: 54

Category: Play, Original, Broadway

Production Staff
Produced by Repertory Theatre of Lincoln Center (under the direction of Jules Irving)
Written by Heinar Kipphardt; Translated by Ruth Speirs
Directed by Gordon Davidson
Scenic Design by Peter Wexler; Costume Design by Constance Ross; Lighting Design by John Gleason
Production Stage Manager: Barbara-Mae Phillips; Stage Manager: Patrick Horrigan
Ralph BellAaron Stein
Herbert BerghofEdward Teller
Philip BoscoCurtis Moffat Jr.
Charles CioffiMajor Nicholas Radzi
Whitfield ConnorThomas A. Morgan
Personnel Security Board
Stephen ElliottJohn Lansdale
Barnett EpsteinCustodian
Eduard FranzWard V. Evans
Personnel Security Board
Douglas HayleStenographer
Patrick HorriganCustodian
Cec LinderFranklin S. Hardiman
Robert MolockStenographer
Robert PhalenH. Thomas Spaulding
Paul RuddSecurity Guard
Stefan SchnabelHans Bethe
Joseph SchroerSecurity Guard
Jean-Pierre StewartSecurity Guard
Harry TownesGordon Gray
Personnel Security Board
Tony Van BridgeJacob Lehmann
Ronald WeyandWalker Leroy Adams
Joseph WisemanJ. Robert Oppenheimer
Standby: Paul Sparer (J. Robert Oppenheimer)
Understudies: Ray Fry (Curtis Moffat Jr., Jacob Lehmann), Ben Hammer (Edward Teller, John Lansdale, Thomas A. Morgan), William Myers (Hans Bethe, Ward V. Evans) and Ray Stewart (Franklin S. Hardiman, Gordon Gray, Walker Leroy Adams)
Drama Desk Award
winner 1969 Outstanding Performance [winner] 
 Performer: Joseph Wiseman
winner 1969 Outstanding Director [winner] 
 Directed by Gordon Davidson