IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.


ANTA Playhouse , (12/11/1958 - 10/24/1959)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Dec 11, 1958   
Closing Date:Oct 24, 1959 Total Performances:364

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Description: A play in two acts
Setting: A traveling circus which has been on the road for a long time.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by ANTA, Inc.
Produced by Alfred De Liagre, Jr.; Associate Producer: Joseph I. Levine
Written by Archibald MacLeish; Music by David Amram
Directed by Elia Kazan
Production Designed by Boris Aronson; Costume Design by Lucinda Ballard; Lighting Design by Tharon Musser; Assistant to Mr. Aronson: Lisa Jalowetz; Assistant to Miss Ballard: Florence Klotz
General Manager: C. Edwin Knill; Managing Director for the ANTA Theatre Louis A. Lotito
Production Stage Manager: Robert Downing; Stage Manager: Daniel S. Broun and Peter Hale; Assistant Stage Mgr: John Ragin
Press Representative: Ben Washer and Tom Trenkle; Advertising: Fred Golden
Raymond Massey Mr. Zuss
Christopher Plummer Nickles
Nan Martin Sarah
Lane Bradbury Jolly
Bert Conway Bildad
Ivor Francis Zophar
Pat Hingle J. B.
Ciri Jacobson Mary
Clifton James First Roustabout
Judith Lowry Mrs. Adams
Miriam Merry Martin Rebecca
Arnold Merritt David
Candy Moore Ruth
James Olson Second Roustabout
Laura Pierpont Mrs. Murphy
Ford Rainey Prompter
Jeffrey Rowland Jonathan
Fay Sappington Mrs. Lesure
Andreas Voutsinas Eliphaz
Janet Ward Girl
Helen Waters Mrs. Botticelli
Understudies: Lane Bradbury (Girl, Mary, Rebecca, Ruth), Ciri Jacobsen (Jolly), John Ragin (Nickles, Second Roustabout), Ford Rainey (J. B., Mr. Zuss), Herbert Ratner (Bildad, Eliphaz, First Roustabout, Zophar), Leora Thatcher (Mrs. Adams, Mrs. Botticelli, Mrs. Lesure, Mrs. Murphy) and Janet Ward (Sarah)
Tony Award®
winner 1959 Best Play [winner]
Written by Archibald MacLeish; Produced by Alfred De Liagre, Jr.
 1959 Best Actor in Play [nominee]
Christopher Plummer
 1959 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee]
Nan Martin
 1959 Best Scenic Design [nominee]
Boris Aronson
winner 1959 Best Direction [winner]
Elia Kazan
Pulitzer Prize
winner 1959 for Drama [winner]
Written by Archibald MacLeish