A Visit to a Small Planet | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Visit to a Small Planet   

Booth Theatre, (2/07/1957 - 1/11/1958)
First Preview: Total Previews: 0
Opening Date: Feb 07, 1957    
Closing Date: Jan 11, 1958 Total Performances: 388

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Description: A comedy in three acts and four scenes
Setting: The house of Roger Spelding outside Manassas, Virginia. The time is next next summer.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Operated by Affiliated Theatre Building Co., Inc.; Theatre Owned by The Shubert Organization
Produced by George Axelrod and Clinton Wilder
Written by Gore Vidal
Directed by Cyril Ritchard
Scenic Design by Oliver Smith; Lighting Design by Feder; Sound Design by Masque Sound Engineering Company
General Manager: Sylvia Herscher; Business Manager: Michael Goldreyer
Production Stage Manager: Pat Chandler; Stage Manager: Pat Fowler
The Emotional and Rather Alarming Vibrations Electronically Created by Louis Barron and Bebe Barron
Costume Supervisor: Patricia Zipprodt; Press Representative: William Fields and Walter Alford
Cyril RitchardKreton
Eddie MayehoffGeneral Tom Powers
Francis BethencourtA Friend
Sibyl BowanReba Spelding
Philip CoolidgeRoger Spelding
Bob GothieAide
Martyn GreenKreton
John HallowSound Man
Conrad JanisConrad Mayberry
Sarah MarshallEllen Spelding
Earl MontgomeryCameraman
Grenadier SaadiRosemary
Understudies: Pat Fowler (Ellen Spelding, Reba Spelding), Genevieve Frizzell (Reba Spelding), Bob Gothie (Conrad Mayberry), John Hallow (A Friend, Aide) and Earl Montgomery (General Tom Powers, Roger Spelding)
Tony Award®
 1957 Best Actor in Play [nominee] 
  Cyril Ritchard
 1957 Best Featured Actor in a Play [nominee] 
  Eddie Mayehoff
 1957 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Oliver Smith