The Happiest Millionaire | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Happiest Millionaire   

Lyceum Theatre, (11/20/1956 - 7/13/1957)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Nov 20, 1956    
Closing Date: Jul 13, 1957 Total Performances: 271

Category: Play, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Description: A comedy in two acts.
Setting: Between September 1916 and June 1917 in the Biddle home, 2104 Walnut Street, Philadelphia.

Production Staff
Produced by Howard Erskine and Joseph Hayes
Written by Kyle Crichton; Suggested by "My Philadelphia Father" by Cordelia Biddle and Kyle Crichton
Directed by Howard Erskine and Joseph Hayes
Scenic Design by George Jenkins; Costume Design by Audré; Lighting Design by George Jenkins; Assistant to Mr. Jenkins: Robert Randolph
General Manager: C. Edwin Knill; Company Manager: Clayre Ribner
Production Stage Manager: William Weaver; Stage Manager: Joe Bishop; Assistant Stage Mgr: Neil B. Smith
Music Contractor: Jack Eaton
Press Representative: Marian Byram and Phyllis Perlman; Press Assistant: Howard Atlee; Casting: Gertrude Applebaum; Animal Trainer: Animal Talent Scouts, Inc.
Walter PidgeonAnthony J. Drexel Biddle
Martin AsheJohn Lawless
George GrizzardAngier Duke
Ruth MattesonMrs. Anthony J. Drexel Biddle
Lou NovaO'Malley
Katharine RahtAunt Mary Drexel
Diana van der VlisCordelia Biddle
Ruth WhiteMrs. Benjamin Duke
Mark AllenFootman
Joe BishopCharlie Taylor
Don BrittonLivingston Biddle
Rocco BufanoJoe Mancuso
Kate HarringtonEmma
Gaye JordanCousin Lucy Rittenhouse
Dana WhiteTony Biddle
Theatre World
winner 1957 Award [recipient] 
  George Grizzard
Tony Award®
 1957 Best Featured Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Diana van der Vlis
 1957 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  George Jenkins