IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
Cort Theatre , (11/17/1960 - 5/20/1961)
First Preview:Nov 16, 1960 Total Previews:2
Opening Date:Nov 17, 1960   
Closing Date:May 20, 1961 Total Performances:212

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: Washington, D.C., sometime in the future

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization
Produced by Robert Fryer and Lawrence Carr; Produced in association with John Herman; Associate Producer: Theatrical Interests Plan, Inc.
Written by Loring Mandel; Based on the Pulitzer Prize Novel by Allen Drury
Directed by Franklin Schaffner
Scenic Design by Rouben Ter-Arutunian; Costume Design by John Boxer; Lighting Design by Klaus Holm; Hair Design by Ronald De Mann; Assistant to Mr. Ter-Arutunian: Klaus Holm; Sound Design by Masque Sound Engineering Company
General Manager: Ben F. Stein; Company Manager: David Lawlor; Assistant to General Manager: Sam Pagliaro
Production Stage Manager: Ross Bowman; Assistant Stage Mgr: Arnold Margolin and Frank Roberts
Press Representative: Betty Lee Hunt; Production Associate: Robert Linden; Advertising: Fred Golden; Photographer: Friedman-Abeles
Ed Begley Orrin Knox
Senator from Illinois
Henry Jones Seab Cooley
Senator from So. Carolina
Richard Kiley Brig Anderson
Senator from Utah
Kevin McCarthy Van Ackerman
Senator from Wyoming
Chester Morris Bob Munson
Senator from Michigan
Staats Cotsworth William A. Huntington
Barnard Hughes August
Senator from Minnesota
Sally Kemp Mabel Anderson
Judson Laire The President of the U.S.
Woodrow Parfrey Herbert Gelman
Tom Shirley Vice President
Joan Wetmore Claire Munson
Conrad Bain Winthrop
Senator from Massachusetts
John Boyd Newsman Three
Senate Clerk
Wilson Brooks Calloway
Senator from Utah
Dan Charles Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
Richard Dickens Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
David Elliot Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
William Farmer Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
Peggy Fenn Secretary
Joan Hotchkis Liz
Brig's Sec.
Al Kavanagh Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
Clarence Kavanaugh Danta
Senator from Connecticut
Leslie Litomy Richardson
Senator from Arkansas
Ed Moroney Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
Kayton Nesbitt Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
Vince O'Brien Newsman One
Rally Speaker
Hack Rightor Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
Michael Ryan Newsman Two
Garrison P. Sherwood Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
James P. Truax Senator, Guard, Page, Aide, etc.
Wynn Wright De Wilton
Senator from Vermont
Understudies: Conrad Bain (Bob Munson, William A. Huntington), John Boyd (Danta, Winthrop), Wilson Brooks (The President of the U.S.), Peggy Fenn (Claire Munson, Liz), Joan Hotchkis (Mabel Anderson), Barnard Hughes (Orrin Knox), Clarence Kavanaugh (August), Leslie Litomy (Herbert Gelman), Vince O'Brien (Calloway, Richardson, Van Ackerman), Frank Roberts (De Wilton, Newsman One, Newsman Three, Newsman Two), Michael Ryan (Brig Anderson), Tom Shirley (Seab Cooley) and Wynn Wright (Vice President)
Tony Award®
 1961 Best Scenic Design (Dramatic) [nominee]
Scenic Design by Rouben Ter-Arutunian