A Bell for Adano | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

A Bell for Adano   

Cort Theatre, (12/06/1944 - 10/27/1945)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date: Dec 06, 1944    
Closing Date: Oct 27, 1945 Total Performances: 296

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: The former office of the Mayor in the City Hall of Adano, Sicily. July, 1943.
Comments: On layoff from June 30 - August 13, 1945.

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by 138 West 48th St. Theatre Co., Inc.
Produced by Leland Hayward
Written by Paul Osborn; Based on the novel by John Hersey
Directed by H. C. Potter
Scenic Design by Motley; Costume Design by Motley; Lighting Design by William Richardson
General Manager: Herman Bernstein; Company Manager: Irving Cooper
Stage Manager: Edward P. Dimond; Assistant Stage Mgr: Clark Poth
Press Representative: Richard Maney and Anne Woll; Casting: Maynard Morris
Fredric MarchMajor Victor Joppolo
Rex KingBill Munroe
Daughter of Tomasino
Florence AquinoSofia Laura
a resident of Adano
Jack ArnoldSergeant Frank Trapani
Phil ArthurLt. Livingston
U.S. Navy
Mario BadolatiD'Arpa
Minister of Finance
Fred BartonCorporal Chuck Schultz
Miriam GoldinaMarguerita
a resident of Adano
Alexander GranachTomasino
Head Fisherman
Bruce MacFarlaneCaptain Purvis
Head of M.P.'s
Gilbert MackGiovanni Zito
Charles Mayer
Broadway debut
Carlo Erba
another cart driver
Doreen McLeanSpinnato
Volunteer Health Officer
Silvio MinciottiCacopardo
a resident of Adano
Clark PothJoe Pollock
Albert RaymoPietro Afronti
cart driver
Alma RossCarmelina
a resident of Adano
Leon RothierFather Pensovecchio
Rolfe SedanNasta
former Mayor of Adano
Harry SelbyColonel George Middleton
Everett SloaneSegeant Leonard Borth, M.P.
J. Scott SmartBasile Giovanni
another cart driver
Harold J. StoneGargano
Chief of Carabinieri
Michael VallonBellanco
President Mayor of Adano
Francis M. VerdiGeneral Marvin
Joe VerdiCraxi
a resident of Adano
Tito VuoloGuiseppe Ribaudo