The Frogs | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Frogs   

Vivian Beaumont Theatre, (7/22/2004 - 10/10/2004)
First Preview: Jun 22, 2004 Total Previews: 34
Opening Date: Jul 22, 2004    
Closing Date: Oct 10, 2004 Total Performances: 92

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Setting: The time is the present. The place is Ancient Greece.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Lincoln Center Theater (André Bishop: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (André Bishop: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer); LCT Musical Theater Associate Producer: Ira Weitzman; Produced in association with Bob Boyett
A comedy written in 405 b.c. by Aristophanes; "The Frogs" freely adapted by Burt Shevelove; "The Frogs" even more freely adapted by Nathan Lane; Music by Stephen Sondheim; Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim; Lyrics for "Fear No More" from "Cymbeline" by William Shakespeare; Music orchestrated by Jonathan Tunick; Musical Director: Paul Gemignani; Dance arrangements by Glen Kelly; Associate Musical Dir.: Annbritt duChateau
Directed by Susan Stroman; Choreographed by Susan Stroman; Associate Director: Tara Young; Associate Choreographer: Tara Young
Scenic Design by Giles Cadle; Costume Design by William Ivey Long; Lighting Design by Kenneth Posner; Sound Design by Scott Lehrer; Puppet Design by Martin P. Robinson; Hair and Wig Design by Paul Huntley; Make-Up Design by Melissa Silver; Associate Lighting Design: Ben Stanton; Plaza Frogs Soundscape by Aural Fixation
LCT General Manager: Adam Siegel; LCT Company Manager: Matthew Markoff
Stage Manager: Thom Widmann; LCT Production Manager: Jeff Hamlin
Conducted by Paul Gemignani; Associate Conductor: Annbritt duChateau; Music Copyist: Emily Grishman Music Preparation; Concertmistress Marilyn Reynolds; Violin: Mineko Yajima; Viola: Richard Brice; Cello: Deborah Sepe; First Clarinet: Les Scott; Second Clarinet: Eric Weidman; First Bassoon: Tom Sefcovic; Second Bassoon: Gili Sharett; First Trumpet: Dominic Derasse; Second Trumpet: Phil Granger; First Trombone: Richard Clark; Second Trombone: Mike Boschen; Bass Trombone: Dean Plank; Piano: Annbritt duChateau; Harp: Jennifer Hoult; Bass: John Beal; Drums and Percussion: Paul Pizzuti; Percussion: Thad Wheeler
Aerial Design: Antigravity, Inc.; Special Effects by Gregory Meeh; Special Effects Associate: Patrick Boyd
Casting: Tara Rubin Casting; LCT Director of Development: Hattie K. Jutagir; LCT Director of Marketing: Andrew Flatt; General Press Representative: Philip Rinaldi; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; Photographer: Paul Kolnik; Dance Captain: James Brown III and Joanne Manning; Dialect Coach: Stephen Gabis
Ryan L. BallEnsemble
Fire Belly Bouncing Frog
Roger BartXanthias
(Jul 15, 2004)
Peter BartlettPluto
John BynerCharon / Aekos
Daniel DavisGeorge Bernard Shaw
Bryn DowlingEnsemble
Handmaiden Charisma
One of Pluto's Hellraisers
Rebecca EichenbergerEnsemble
Meg GillentineEnsemble
One of Three Graces
One of Pluto's Hellraisers
Pia C. GlennEnsemble
the Amazon
Tyler HanesEnsemble
Francesca HarperEnsemble
One of Pluto's Hellraisers
Rod HarrelsonEnsemble
Jessica HowardEnsemble
One of Three Graces
One of Pluto's Hellraisers
Naomi KakukEnsemble
One of Three Graces
One of Pluto's Hellraisers
Kenway Hon Wai K. KuaEnsemble
Nathan LaneDionysos
Luke LongacreEnsemble
Fire Belly Bouncing Frog
David LowensteinEnsemble
Burke MosesHerakles
Michael SiberryWilliam Shakespeare
Kathy VoytkoEnsemble
Steve WilsonEnsemble
Jay Brian WinnickEnsemble
Swings: James Brown III, Eric Michael Gillett, Timothy Gulan, Joanne Manning and Mia Price
Understudies: Ryan L. Ball (Herakles), Meg Gillentine (Ariadne, Handmaiden Charisma, Virilla), Eric Michael Gillett (George Bernard Shaw, Pluto, William Shakespeare), Timothy Gulan (Dionysos, Pluto, Xanthias), Francesca Harper (Virilla), David Lowenstein (Charon / Aekos), Mia Price (Ariadne, Handmaiden Charisma), Steve Wilson (George Bernard Shaw, Herakles, William Shakespeare) and Jay Brian Winnick (Charon / Aekos, Dionysos, Xanthias)
music by Stephen Sondheim; lyrics by Stephen Sondheim
ACT 1 Sung By
Invocation and Instructions to the Audience1st Actor, 2nd Actor and Greek Chorus
I Love to TravelDionysos, Xanthias and Greek Chorus
Dress BigHerakles, Dionysos and Xanthias
I Love to Travel (Reprise) Dionysos and Xanthias
All AboardCharon
The FrogsDionysos, A Splash of Frogs and Fire Belly Bouncing Frogs
ACT 2 Sung By
Hymn to Dionysos3 Graces, Dionysians, Dionysos and Xanthias
HadesPluto and The Hellraisers
It's Only a PlayGreek Chorus
ShawDionysos, Shaw and Shavians
All AboardCharon
Fear No More (from Shakespeare's Cymbaline)Shakespeare
Hymn to DionysosGreek Chorus
Final Instructions to the AudienceDionysos and Company