Little Shop of Horrors | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

Little Shop of Horrors   

Virginia Theatre, (10/02/2003 - 8/22/2004)
First Preview: Aug 29, 2003 Total Previews: 40
Opening Date: Oct 02, 2003    
Closing Date: Aug 22, 2004 Total Performances: 372

Category: Musical, Comedy, Puppets, Original, Broadway
Setting: Mushnik's flower shop on Skid Row.

Production Staff [See More]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Jujamcyn Theaters (James H. Binger: Chairman; Rocco Landesman: President; Paul Libin: Producing Director; Jack Viertel: Creative Director)
Produced by Marc Routh, Richard Frankel, Thomas Viertel, Steven Baruch, James D. Stern, Douglas L. Meyer, Rick Steiner, John Osher, Bonnie Osher and Simone Genatt Haft; Produced in association with Frederic H. Mayerson, Amy Danis and Mark Johannes; Associate Producer: HoriPro, Inc., Tokyo Broadcasting System Intl., Inc., Clear Channel Entertainment, Endgame Entertainment, Zemiro, Morton Swinsky, Michael Fuchs, Judith Marinoff Cohn and Rhoda Mayerson
Originally produced by The WPA Theatre; With the WPA Theatre, originally produced at the Orpheum Theatre by David Geffen, Cameron Mackintosh and The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Bernard B. Jacobs: President); A developmental production of LITTLE SHOP OF HORRORS was presented at The Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre (Executive Producing Director: Barbara S. Stein; Artistic Director: David Arisco)
Book by Howard Ashman; Lyrics by Howard Ashman; Music by Alan Menken; Based on the film by Roger Corman; Based on the screenplay by Charles Griffith; Musical Director: Henry Aronson; Original Vocal Arrangements: Robert Billig; New Arrangements: Michael Kosarin; Music orchestrated by Danny Troob
Directed by Jerry Zaks; Choreographed by Kathleen Marshall; Associate Choreographer: Vince Pesce
Scenic Design by Scott Pask; Costume Design by William Ivey Long; Lighting Design by Donald Holder; Sound Design by T. Richard Fitzgerald; Puppet Design by The Jim Henson Company and Martin P. Robinson; Hair and Wig Design by Robert-Charles Vallance; Make-Up Design by Angelina Avallone; Associate Scenic Design: Orit Carroll; Associate Costume Design: Tom Beall; Associate Lighting Design: Vivien Leone; Associate Sound Design: Carl Casella and Domonic Sack
General Manager: Richard Frankel Productions and Jo Porter; Company Manager: Sammy Ledbetter; Associate Co. Mgr: Grant A. Rice
Production Stage Manager: Karen Armstrong; Production Manager: Juniper Street Productions; Stage Manager: Adam John Hunter
Music Supervisor: Michael Kosarin; Musical Coordinator: John Miller; Conducted by Henry Aronson; Associate Conductor: John Samorian; Music Preparation: Miller Music Services; Keyboard: Henry Aronson and John Samorian; Guitars/Mandolin: John Benthal; Percussion: David Yee; Trumpet: Tony Kadleck; Musician: David Spier; Woodwinds: Matt Hong and Tom Murray; Drums: Rich Mercurio; Bass: Steve Gelfand
Casting: Bernard Telsey Casting, Inc.; Press Representative: Barlow-Hartman Public Relations; Advertising: Serino Coyne, Inc.; Promotions / Marketing: TMG - The Marketing Group; Photographer: Paul Kolnik; Dance Captain: Carla J. Hargrove
Kerry ButlerAudrey
(Aug 29, 2003 - Jun 20, 2004)
Hunter FosterSeymour
(Aug 29, 2003 - Jun 06, 2004)
Rob BartlettMushnik
Douglas SillsDerelict, Skid Row Occupant
Orin, Bernstein, Snip, Luce and Everyone Else
(Aug 29, 2003 - Jun 13, 2004)
Anthony AsburyDerelict, Skid Row Occupant
Audrey II (Manipulation)
Carla J. Hargrove
Broadway debut
Trisha Jeffrey
Broadway debut
DeQuina Moore
Broadway debut
Don MorrowPrologue Voice
Recorded voice only
Bill RemingtonDerelict, Skid Row Occupant
Audrey II (Manipulation)
Martin P. RobinsonAudrey II (Manipulation)
Derelict, Skid Row Occupant
Matt VogelAudrey II (Manipulation)
Derelict, Skid Row Occupant
Michael-Leon WooleyDerelict, Skid Row Occupant
The Voice of Audrey II
Understudies: Ta'Rea Campbell (Chiffon, Crystal, Ronnette), Ray DeMattis (Mushnik), Michael James Leslie (The Voice of Audrey II), Jonathan Rayson (Orin, Bernstein, Snip, Luce and Everyone Else, Seymour), Darren Ritchie (Orin, Bernstein, Snip, Luce and Everyone Else, Seymour) and Jessica-Snow Wilson (Audrey)
Tony Award®
 2004 Best Actor in a Musical [nominee] 
  Hunter Foster
Drama Desk Award
 2004 Outstanding Actor in a Musical [nominee] 
  Hunter Foster
music by Alan Menken; lyrics by Howard Ashman
ACT 1 Sung By
Little Shop of HorrorsChiffon, Crystal and Ronnette
Downtown (Skid Row)Company
Da-DooSeymour, Chiffon, Crystal and Ronnette
Grow for MeSeymour
Ya Never KnowMushnik, Seymour, Chiffon, Crystal and Ronnette
Somewhere That's GreenAudrey
Closed for RenovationMushnik, Seymour and Audrey
Dentist!Orin, Chiffon, Crystal and Ronnette
Mushnik and SonMushnik and Seymour
Git ItSeymour, The Voice of Audrey II, Chiffon, Crystal and Ronnette
Now (It's Just the Gas)Orin and Seymour
ACT 2 Sung By
Call Back in the MorningAudrey and Seymour
Suddenly SeymourSeymour, Audrey, Chiffon, Crystal and Ronnette
SuppertimeThe Voice of Audrey II, Chiffon, Crystal and Ronnette
The Meek Shall InheritSeymour, Chiffon, Crystal, Ronnette, Bernstein, Luce and Snip
Sominex/Suppertime (Reprise)Audrey and The Voice of Audrey II
Somewhere That's Green (Reprise) Audrey
Don't Feed the PlantCompany