The Violet Hour | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Violet Hour   

Biltmore Theatre, (11/06/2003 - 12/21/2003)
First Preview: Oct 16, 2003 Total Previews: 23
Opening Date: Nov 06, 2003    
Closing Date: Dec 21, 2003 Total Performances: 54

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway
Setting: The office of John Pace Seavering and its anteroom in a Manhattan tower. April 1, 1919.

Production Staff [Collapse]
Theatre Owned / Operated by Manhattan Theatre Club (Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director; Barry Grove, Executive Producer)
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club (Lynne Meadow, Artistic Director; Barry Grove, Executive Producer)
"The Violet Hour" was commissioned and first produced by South Coast Repertory (David Emmes, Producing Artistic Director, Martin Benson, Artistic Director)
Written by Richard Greenberg
Directed by Evan Yionoulis; Assistant Director: Pat Diamond
Scenic Design by Christopher H. Barreca; Costume Design by Jane Greenwood; Lighting Design by Donald Holder; Sound Design by Scott Myers; Assistant Scenic Design: Matt Downs McAdon and Justin Townsend; Assistant Costume Design: Junghyun Georgia Lee; Assistant Lighting Design: Elizabeth Gaines; Assistant Sound Design: Josh Bender; Wig Design by Tom Watson
MTC General Manager: Harold Wolpert; Company Manager: Denise Cooper
Production Stage Manager: Ed Fitzgerald; Stage Manager: James FitzSimmons; MTC Production Manager / Director of Capital Projects: Michael R. Moody
Special Effects by Gregory Meeh; Associate Special Effects: Patrick Boyd
Casting: Nancy Piccione and David Caparelliotis; Press Representative: Boneau / Bryan-Brown; MTC Director of Development: Andrew D. Hamingson; MTC Director of Marketing: Debra A. Waxman; MTC Director of Artistic Development: Paige Evans; Production Photographer: Joan Marcus; Playbill Cover Photography: Hugh Kretschmer; Vocal Coach: Walton Wilson; Press Associate: Jim Byk, Aaron Meier and Karalee Dawn
Mario CantoneGidger
Dagmara DominczykRosamund Plinth
Scott FoleyDenis McCleary
Robert Sean LeonardJohn Pace Seavering
Robin MilesJessie Brewster
Understudies: Elsa Davis (Jessie Brewster), Robert L. Devaney (Denis McCleary, Gidger, John Pace Seavering) and Heather Mazur (Rosamund Plinth)
Drama Desk Award
 2004 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee] 
  Donald Holder