Medea | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  


Brooks Atkinson Theatre, (12/10/2002 - 2/22/2003)
First Preview: Dec 04, 2002 Total Previews: 6
Opening Date: Dec 10, 2002    
Closing Date: Feb 22, 2003 Total Performances: 78

Category: Play, Drama, Tragedy, Revival, Broadway

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Nederlander Organization (James M. Nederlander: Chairman; James L. Nederlander: President)
Produced by Roger Berlind, James M. Nederlander, Daryl Roth and Scott Rudin; Produced in association with Jean Stein, True Love Productions, Inc. and Wendy Vanden Heuvel; Produced by arrangement with Max Weitzenhoffer, Nica Burns, Working Title & Old Vic Productions and Jedediah Wheeler
Originally produced by The Abbey Theatre of Dublin
Written by Euripides; Translated by Kenneth McLeish and Frederic Raphael; Soundscape: Mel Mercier
Directed by Deborah Warner
Scenic Design by Tom Pye; Costume Design by Jacqueline Durran; Lighting Design by Michael Gunning; Sound Design by David Meschter; Associate Lighting Design: Bobby Harrell
General Manager: Stuart Thompson Productions and James Triner; Company Manager: Barbara Crompton; Assistant to Mr. Thompson: Caroline Prugh; General Management Assistant: Ann Farrar
Technical Supervisor: Juniper Street Productions; Production Stage Manager: Nevin Hedley; Stage Manager: Patricia McGregor; Technical Director: Tracy Nunnally
General Press Representative: Barlow-Hartman Public Relations; Advertising: SPOTCo, Inc.; Photographer: Neil Libbert; Additional U.S. Casting: Cindy Tolan; Assistant to Mr. Berlind: Jeffrey Hillock; Assistant to Ms. Roth: Greg Raby; Assistant to Mr. Rudin: Q Beck and Chris Cussen
Fiona ShawMedea
Jonathan CakeJason
chief of the Argonauts
Kirsten CampbellChorus
Joyce HendersonChorus
Derek HutchinsonMessenger
Rachel IssacChorus
Robin LaingTutor
Pauline LynchChorus
Siobhàn McCarthyNurse
Joseph MydellAegeus
king of Athens
Struan RodgerCreon
ruler of Corinth
Susan SalmonChorus
Dylan DentonChild
Alexander ScheitingerChild
Michael TommerChild
Understudies: Chris McKinney (Aegeus, Creon, Messenger, Tutor) and Aidan Sullivan (Nurse)
Tony Award®
 2003 Best Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Fiona Shaw
 2003 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 
  Deborah Warner
Theatre World
winner 2003 Award [recipient] 
  Jonathan Cake
Drama Desk Award
 2003 Outstanding Revival of a Play [nominee] 
 Produced by Roger Berlind , James M. Nederlander , Daryl Roth and Scott Rudin ;  Produced in association with Jean Stein , True Love Productions, Inc. and Wendy Vanden Heuvel
 2003 Outstanding Actress in a Play [nominee] 
  Fiona Shaw
 2003 Outstanding Director of a Play [nominee] 
 Directed by Deborah Warner
 2003 Outstanding Sound Design [nominee] 
 Sound Design by David Meschter ;  Soundscape: Mel Mercier