The Invention of Love | IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information IBDB: The official source for Broadway Information


IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  

The Invention of Love   

Lyceum Theatre, (3/29/2001 - 6/30/2001)
First Preview: Mar 01, 2001 Total Previews: 31
Opening Date: Mar 29, 2001    
Closing Date: Jun 30, 2001 Total Performances: 108

Category: Play, Drama, Original, Broadway

Production Staff
Theatre Owned / Operated by The Shubert Organization (Gerald Schoenfeld: Chairman; Philip J. Smith: President; Robert E. Wankel: Executive Vice President)
Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (André Bishop: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
Written by Tom Stoppard; Incidental music by Bob James
Directed by Jack O'Brien; Assistant Director: Mathew August
Scenic Design by Bob Crowley; Costume Design by Bob Crowley; Lighting Design by Brian MacDevitt; Sound Design by Scott Lehrer; Hair and Wig Design by David Brian Brown; Associate Scenic Design: Ted LeFevre
LCT General Manager: Steven C. Callahan; Company Manager: Gillian Roth
Stage Manager: Susie Cordon; LCT Production Manager: Jeff Hamlin; Assistant Stage Mgr: John J. Harmon and Jennifer N. Rogers
LCT Casting: Daniel Swee; LCT Director of Development: Hattie K. Jutagir; LCT Director of Marketing: Thomas Cott; LCT General Press Agent: Philip Rinaldi; Advertising: James Russek and Frank Verlizzo; Poster art ("Jeune homme nu assis au bord de la mer") by Jean-Hippolyte Flandrin; Dialect Coach: Elizabeth A. Smith; Poster concept by Bob Crowley
Daniel DavisOscar Wilde
Neal DodsonEnsemble
Richard EastonA.E. Houseman, aged 77
Mireille EnosKatharine Houseman
David HarbourMoses John Jackson
Paul HechtJohn Ruskin
Jerome K. Jerome
Brian HutchisonEnsemble
Byron JenningsBenjamin Jowett
Henry Labouchère
Robert Sean LeonardA.E. Houseman, aged 18 to 26
Andrew McGinnChairman of Selection Committee
Peter McRobbieMark Pattison
W.T. Stead
Matthew Floyd MillerEnsemble
Mark NelsonChamberlain
Guy PaulRobinson Ellis
John Percival Postgate
Martin RaynerWalter Pater
Frank Harris
Peter A. SmithEnsemble
Michael StuhlbargAlfred William Pollard
David TurnerEnsemble
Jeff WeissCharon
Understudies: Julian Gamble (Chairman of Selection Committee, Charon, Jerome K. Jerome, John Ruskin, Oscar Wilde), Brian Hutchison (Moses John Jackson), Aaron Krohn (Ensemble), Andrew McGinn (Bunthorne, John Percival Postgate, Mark Pattison, Robinson Ellis, W.T. Stead), Matthew Floyd Miller (A.E. Houseman, aged 18 to 26), Caitlin Muelder (Katharine Houseman), Guy Paul (Benjamin Jowett, Frank Harris, Henry Labouchère, Walter Pater), Martin Rayner (A.E. Houseman, aged 77), Peter A. Smith (Chamberlain) and David Turner (Alfred William Pollard)
Tony Award®
 2001 Best Play [nominee] 
 Written by Tom Stoppard ;  Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (André Bishop: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
winner 2001 Best Actor in Play [winner] 
  Richard Easton
winner 2001 Best Featured Actor in a Play [winner] 
  Robert Sean Leonard
 2001 Best Scenic Design [nominee] 
  Bob Crowley
 2001 Best Direction of a Play [nominee] 
  Jack O'Brien
Drama Desk Award
 2001 Outstanding New Play [nominee] 
 Written by Tom Stoppard ;  Produced by Lincoln Center Theater (André Bishop: Artistic Director; Bernard Gersten: Executive Producer)
winner 2001 Outstanding Actor in a Play [winner] 
  Richard Easton
winner 2001 Outstanding Director of a Play [winner] 
 Directed by Jack O'Brien
winner 2001 Outstanding Set Design of a Play [winner] 
 Scenic Design by Bob Crowley
 2001 Outstanding Lighting Design [nominee] 
  Brian MacDevitt