IBDB: Internet Broadway Database Policies About the Internet Broadway Database Help FAQ/Contact the Internet Broadway Database
  Home Shows People Theatres Characters Awards Songs grosses  
The Broadway League

Official Broadway League sites:

Quick Search For:   In This Category:  
The credits for this production have not yet been completed or verified.


New Amsterdam Theatre , (3/22/1927 - 5/21/1927)
First Preview: Total Previews:
Opening Date:Mar 22, 1927   
Closing Date:May 21, 1927 Total Performances:71

Category: Musical, Comedy, Original, Broadway
Description: A musical in two acts
Setting: Ceylon and New York City

Production Staff
Produced by Charles Dillingham
Book by Otto Harbach; Additional scenes by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby; Music by Jerome Kern; Additional numbers by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby; Musical Director: Gus Salzer; Music orchestrated by Robert Russell Bennett; Lyrics by Otto Harbach; Additional music by Fred Fisher, Nora Bayes, Jack Norworth, Gus Edwards and George Gershwin; Additional lyrics by Fred Fisher, Jack Norworth, Edward Madden and Anne Caldwell
Staged by Hassard Short; Choreographed by David Bennett; Ballets arranged by Albertina Rasch
Costume Design by Mabel E. Johnston
Musician: Paul Whiteman's Orchestra
Bessie Allison Ensemble
Alfred Arnold Ensemble
Walter Arnold Ensemble
Charles Bannister Ensemble
Julia Brashkova Ensemble
Dorothy Bell Ensemble
Dick Bennett Ensemble
Dulce Bentley Ensemble
Martin Berkeley Finch
Albert Birk Ensemble
Leonore Blair Ensemble
Betty Block Ensemble
Pearl Bradley Ensemble
Mary Brady Ensemble
Billie Cain Ensemble
Walter Catlett Charlie Simpson
Virginia Clark Ensemble
Joan Clement First Tourist
Hal Clovis Mendicant Monk
Charles Conkling Ensemble
Emily Cote Mendicant Monk
Peggy Cunningham Ensemble
Hyacinth Curtis Ensemble
Jack de Lys Ensemble
Maxine Demmler Ensemble
Marian Dickson Ensemble
Alma Drange Ensemble
Charles Eaton Page
Mary Eaton Lucky
Eleanor Elden Ensemble
Paul Everton Barlow
Rosemary Farmer Ensemble
Richard Farrell Wilton
George Ferguson Second Waiter
Jeanne Fonda Second Tourist
Ethel Forrest Ensemble
Rose Gaillaird Ensemble
Richard "Skeets" Gallagher Teddy Travers
Charles Gibney The High Priest
Elvira Gomez Ensemble
Bert Gould A Pearl Thief
Alfred Hall Ensemble
Pauline Hall Ensemble
Aili Halmenaa Ensemble
Milton Halpern Ensemble
Kathryn Hamill Notoya
Vivian Harris Ensemble
Jack Hughes Ensemble
Max Hugo Ensemble
Ray Justus Ensemble
Ruby Keeler Mazie Maxwell
Betty Keen Ensemble
Keller Sisters Specialty
Lily Kimari Ensemble
Kathleen Krosby Ensemble
Kathryn Lambly Ensemble
Myrtle Lane Ensemble
Donald Lee Ensemble
Fred Lennox First Tourist
Edna Locke Ensemble
Al Lynch Specialty
Trude Marr Ensemble
Olga Marye Ensemble
Bob Maxwell Ensemble
Stanley McClelland Mendicant Monk
Charles Mitchell Shelbach
Lillian Morehouse Ensemble
Bob Morris Ensemble
Josephine Mostler Ensemble
Henry Mowbray Chuck Dugan
Hugh Francis Murphy Officer
Al Ochs Long Ling
Bill O'Donnell Ensemble
Don Oltarsh Ensemble
Cheri Pelham Ensemble
Dorothy Phillips Ensemble
Nickie Pittell Ensemble
Patricia Preston Ensemble
Anna Rex Ensemble
Phyllis Reynolds Ensemble
Nita Rosso Ensemble
Elizabeth Ryder Ensemble
Joseph Santley Jack Mansfield
Ivy Sawyer Grace Mansfield
Lenore Shearer Ensemble
Kumara Singha Cyngie
Emily Slater Ensemble
Hugh Sorenson Ensemble
Louise Starck Ensemble
Jack Talbot Ensemble
Ayres Tavitt Ensemble
Archibald Thompson Ensemble
Peaches Tortoni Ensemble
Regina Tuahinska Ensemble
George Vigouroux Ensemble
Eda Vittollo Ensemble
Teddy Ward Ensemble
Elida Webb Ensemble
Princess White Deer Strawberry
Martha Wilbert Ensemble
Fred Wilson Mendicant Monk
Albert Wyart Third Waiter
Dorothy Wyatt Ensemble
music by Jerome Kern; lyrics by Otto Harbach
(Unless otherwise noted)

ACT 1Sung By
The Treasure Hunt Ensemble
Cingalee Girls
(music by Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby and Otto Harbach; lyrics by Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby and Otto Harbach)
Jack Mansfield, Albertina Rasch Girls and Ensemble
Without Thinking Of You Grace Mansfield, Charlie Simpson, Mazie Maxwell and Teddy Travers
(lyrics by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby)
Lucky and Ensemble
That Little Something
(lyrics by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby)
Lucky and Jack Mansfield
When the Bo-Tree Blossoms (Again)
(lyrics by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby)
Lucky and Jack Mansfield
Dancing the Devil Away
(music by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby; lyrics by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby)
Lucky and Ensemble
ACT 2Sung By
Pearl of Broadway
(lyrics by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby)
Mazie Maxwell and Ensemble
Spring Is Here Lucky, Charlie Simpson, Teddy Travers and Male Ensemble
Same Old Moon
(music by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby; lyrics by Bert Kalmar and Harry Ruby)
Grace Mansfield and Jack Mansfield
If the Man in the Moon Was a Coon
(music by Fred Fisher; lyrics by Fred Fisher)
Mazie Maxwell and Show Girls
Shine On Harvest Moon (from ZIEGFELD FOLLIES OF 1908)
(music by Nora Bayes and Jack Norworth; lyrics by Jack Norworth)
By the Light of the Silvery Moon (from ZIEGFELD FOLLIES OF 1909)
(music by Gus Edwards; lyrics by Edward Madden)
Charlie Simpson, Teddy Travers and Dancers
Once in a Blue Moon (from STEPPING STONES)
(lyrics by Anne Caldwell)
Lucky and Albertina Rasch Girls
Rhapsody in Blue
(music by George Gershwin)
The Pearl of Ceylon Lucky, Premiere and Albertina Rasch Girls